Login / Register

How Competitive are things in the pro realm?
New Reply
Subscribe
D Rex
20th April 2013
Old 20th April 2013
Gear interested

How Competitive are things in the pro realm?

Hey Slutz!

I'm in my second year of recording school, and I love the recording stuff, I live, eat, and breath it. I've spent loads of money on my gear, and I've devoted many a sleepless night to developing my skills as an engineer....

But, from what it seems like, it isn't about doing this to survive... people are becoming aggressive about this. Like, it seems like every person in a band these days "wants to make it as an engineer" or that's their dream job or something. So whenever they meet a new engineer, it's no longer about becoming friends and networking, it's about proving how much better some people are than others.

I want to know if once you get that magical *Recording Studio Internship* that evolves into an assistant engineer job.... is it still as competitive as it seems like it is in college? Do audio engineers actually become friends that hang out? Or is it just an ulterior motive that causes everyone to "Network" like seriously, some people are getting really fierce about this audio engineering thing, but they aren't that good....

Once enough time passes, will I be able to chill for a while and just focus on music instead of snagging clients from other studios? From other fourteen year olds in their basements?? Or college kids using mbox pros?
20th April 2013
Old 20th April 2013
Gear maniac

First of all, never snag clients from any one, it is taboo and tantamount to stealing in my book.

If a client wants to work with you necause they like you/your ears, that is another story.

It often is very competitive and sometimes cutthroat.

These are the people best not to have to hang with if possible.

The finest engineers, producers, musicians etc. are a kinder humbler bunch of folks.