New Reply
Subscribe
Soni-Fi
15th March 2013
Old 15th March 2013
Gear interested

An open letter to UA

Dear Universal Audio,

I have been using DAWs since 1990. I remember when Sound Designer II was new. I've transitioned from a Mac-based system, to a PC-based system, and back to Mac again. I also make software for a living, and as you are about to find out, I am kind of a wonk about user experience and workflow issues.

I recently tanked my trusty zero-latency 12 year old TDM system and the thousands of dollars of associated hardware/software, in favor of your Apollo Quad. When it comes to sound quality and reduction of fan noise in my small studio, I couldn't be happier. But I'm writing you today about something that really bugs me: the fact that you are choosing to make my user experience difficult in favor of your free-trial model for selling plug-ins. Let me explain...

First, I want to be upfront about the fact that I think it's great that you allow us to try these plug-ins for free, and I realize that this model is very successful for you. I myself have used a trial plug-in in a session, had it expire, and then felt extremely compelled to buy it because it was now an important part of that creative piece of work. I think this is a great service and I appreciate the ability to be able to listen before I purchase. To this practice, I doth not protest. What is driving me absolutely nuts, is that I can't easily remove the trials from the list of plug-ins in either my DAW of choice (Pro Tools 10) or even your own Console software.

Now it would be easy to accuse Avid of not being on the stick here because some other DAW packages do allow you to manage plug-ins internally. I suppose I will write them a letter as well. But it is really unacceptable that your own software should not allow even some basic filtering (authorized/not authorized/show all).