New Reply
Subscribe
arrowood101
26th May 2012
Old 26th May 2012
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

Being an Engineer = Being a Studio Owner

When did being an engineer, become the same as being a studio owner? Seems like many on this site see owning gear as mandatory, to be an engineer.

Personally I am a fulltime profesional engineer, I own maybe 3-4k worth of gear and generally goes unused. Also most of the gear was given to me as collectors pieces, as a thank you for different gigs.

Just want to put it out there that you do not need to own gear to be an engineer. I rather spend my money on anything besides gear.
26th May 2012
Old 26th May 2012
Lives for gear

Who cares what many on this site see as mandatory? I don't
26th May 2012
Old 26th May 2012

My Recordings/Credits

Send a message via Skype™ to psycho_monkey
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrowood101 View Post
When did being an engineer, become the same as being a studio owner? Seems like many on this site see owning gear as mandatory, to be an engineer.

Personally I am a fulltime profesional engineer, I own maybe 3-4k worth of gear and generally goes unused. Also most of the gear was given to me as collectors pieces, as a thank you for different gigs.

Just want to put it out there that you do not need to own gear to be an engineer. I rather spend my money on anything besides gear.
Because most people don't get the opportunity to work commercially unless they have a facility - ie they're selling the studio space rather than themselves.

The difference is the key to moving up with the quality of artists you work with, in many cases.

Obviously there are exceptions.

Jack Robert Hardman (New EP now on sale), Morgan Joanel, and High-Tails.

If I've helped you out, please consider supporting these artists as a favour to me!

Major label credits include Pharrell/Alicia Keys, Ricky Martin (Aus #3), John Legend, Samantha Jade, Di-Rect (Dutch #1), etc
26th May 2012
Old 26th May 2012
Lives for gear