The Great Preamp Circle Jerk
New Reply
Subscribe
captshiznit
3rd March 2012
Old 3rd March 2012
Gear maniac

The Great Preamp Circle Jerk

I've been involved in quite alot (However.... no direct experience face to face with all these preamps) but alot of reading and listening to audio clips and many many hours (days? weeks?) of reading threads of shootouts etc and I'm starting to think this whole preamp business is a bit of a farse. Do they have differences, yes they do. Just it justify the 2 grand price tag for a bit more colour....you be the judge.

I've seriously felt like killing myself reading about preamps. I need to go outside and get a hobby. Or maybe i'll go find that spare XLS cable and string myself up from my ceiling.

Then again what do I know i'm fairly new to the game still I must admit so maybe my ears lack the special talent required to hear these miraculous flavors

I've actually started to uncover more threads concerning preamp discussions like this and I was glad to find out i'm not alone.

Mics though, no question you can hear obvious differences. But spending 2 grand on a u87 when you can get a budget mic that can do a similar job well that's another discussion entirely.

And don't get me started on this stacking tracks bollocks! I just think technology/manufacturing these days has generally improved that even budget gear is kicking some serious ass in general.

Disclaimer: This is all my own opinion and it could all count for crapp all! so feel free to chime in.
3rd March 2012
Old 3rd March 2012
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by captshiznit View Post