High/Low Shelving before OR after mid-range eq work?
Old 8th April 2013
Lives for gear

High/Low Shelving before OR after mid-range eq work?

Hi Folks,

I'm sure this going to garner the usual mix of "depends on the source material" and "you-must-only-do-it-this-way" responses, but I've been recently experimenting with various mastering techniques for material intended for film trailers (and this is extreme stuff, no mid-scooped orchestral stuff, but hard, in-your-face sound design electronic stuff where each sound has loads of high and low spikes in it). I'll preface this by saying I'm not a mastering engineer, but I've read a lot and asked a lot of questions of some serious mastering engineers, so I'm not a mastering idiot either...

Here's the question: if you're dividing up eq duties between a dedicated high-low shelving eq (Pultec style, lets say, though in this case, it's a mastering eq plugin) and an eq boosting and cutting specific frequencies in the mids and low-mids, would you typically put the Pultec-style before or after the mid/low-mid eq? And compression: before or after eq (which eq)?

My instinct WAS to run my chain like this: compressor (parallel comp)>eq mid & low-mid>Pultec "smile">limiter.

However, I recently rewired my studio and discovered I liked this set-up better: eq boosting (API 5500)>API 2500>parallel blender RJR custom>DDMF LP10 eq plugin set to low-phase setting/ Pultec-style low-high boost/shelf> FabFilter Pro-L limiter to just barely control peaks.

This set-up "sounds" good to me, but I'm concerned there may be issues I'm introducing through some lack of knowledge on my part. (BTW, I do know that an API 2500 is not a typical hardware comp choice for mastering, but if used lightly, it still sounds better to me than any plug-in I have, including Massey's or Cytomic The Glue or well, definitely than so-called "mastering" chains like Izotope's Ozone, all of which I have licenses for and have used extensively.)
Old 8th April 2013