Login / Register
 
Your Voxengo SPAN settings
New Reply
Subscribe
Hermetech Mastering
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#1
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
  #1
Lives for gear
 
Hermetech Mastering's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Milan

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Hermetech Mastering is online now
Your Voxengo SPAN settings

Just wondering what internal settings people are finding useful with the Voxengo SPAN analyser, and for what purposes. Do you have one particular setting saved as a preset for mastering, de-essing, "looking" at the bass frequencies only etc.?

The thing I like a lot about SPAN is how configurable it is, how smooth it runs, and how "cool" it looks, but I usually have one just one setting I stick to for viewing the track as it comes back in after the analogue loop, which I also use for sending pink noise through when I am getting the stereo tracking exact before I do the take.

I don't have my settings to hand (doh!), but the next time I'm in the studio I'll jot them down and report them here.

Just thought it might be interesting to see what settings other people use. Tracking/mixing suggestion settings welcome also! Some of the settings are not that well explained in the manual, so it would be interesting to hear why you do what you do too!

Am well aware a lot of people choose not to use/don't like analysers, but that's not what I'm asking! Have had many a client comment on how cool it looks...
huejahfink
Verified Member
#2
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
  #2
Lives for gear
 
huejahfink's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: underneath the dank, cobbled streets of Landon Taaaan'
Posts: 1,982

Verified Member
huejahfink is offline
OK good idea Gregg, this is my usual mastering settings attached.

I set it like this because it is sufficiently accurate on frequencies, plus the 'lack' of a slope makes it simple to judge relative freq levels.

The slowness doesn't really bother me, I tend to only use the analyser for help with surgical cuts anyway, so would rather have the freq domain accuracy instead.

It has a second spectrum which keeps a max which I also find useful.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SPAN_BF_Slow_Flat.zip (1.0 KB, 241 views)
__________________
Discogs Technical Credits
#3
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
  #3
Lives for gear
 
wado1942's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 2,741

wado1942 is offline
Here's what I use when mixing. Yes, it's an earlier version because the newer one annoys me for some reason. I adjust the reference point (-15dB in this pic) a little this way or that way, but everything else stays pretty much the same.

Your Voxengo SPAN settings-span.gif
__________________
Stephen Baldassarre
www.gcmstudio.com
#4
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
  #4
Lives for gear
 
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,321

OpusOfTrolls is offline
The one thing about SPAN that pisses me off is the routing matrix. There isn't a way to monitor Mid without Side. If you set a M/S group, you have to use both IIRC. The older version of SPAN didn't have window overlap settings or channel routing. For some reason, I think the dBFS spectrum was more accurate in the first versions, because in the new version a 0dBFS sine tone ends up way over 0dBFS on the spectrum display... maybe someone can explain that.
Deleted User #43636
#5
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
  #5
Deleted User #43636
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

I prefer the older versions too.
huejahfink
Verified Member
#6
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
  #6
Lives for gear
 
huejahfink's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: underneath the dank, cobbled streets of Landon Taaaan'
Posts: 1,982

Verified Member
huejahfink is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by OpusOfTrolls View Post
because in the new version a 0dBFS sine tone ends up way over 0dBFS on the spectrum display... maybe someone can explain that.
This might be connected with the slope control?
#7
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
  #7
Lives for gear
 
stinkyfingers's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 3,026
My Recordings/Credits

stinkyfingers is offline
use 4096 block size for 'accurate' level reading from the spectrum

Quote:
Originally Posted by OpusOfTrolls View Post
...There isn't a way to monitor Mid without Side...
the "SOLO" button does not work for this?
__________________
go usa!
#8
29th December 2012
Old 29th December 2012
  #8
Lives for gear
 
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,321

OpusOfTrolls is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by stinkyfingers View Post
use 4096 block size for 'accurate' level reading from the spectrum



the "SOLO" button does not work for this?
I meant display, not monitor, my bad. That's not the problem though. SOLO only tells one group to analyze and output. I was attempting to use the routing matrix to set 4 groups, M/S and L/R, so I could use two spectrums per group, max and average. It does not do it unless the A/B swap is used. I find it irritating because there is no way to use the routing matrix for both M/S and L/R at the same time.

With the slope control set to 0dB, a 0dBFS sine wave peaks at +9dB on the spectrum, using 32768 block size. With block size 4096, it peaks at 0dB. Quite strange, every block size has a different peak value.
Hermetech Mastering
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#9
30th December 2012
Old 30th December 2012
  #9
Lives for gear
 
Hermetech Mastering's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Milan

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Hermetech Mastering is online now
OK, here are mine, sorry for delay! I'm using the latest version.

Routing: Dual Mono (So you can see L & R separately, I use this for lining up stereo)

Settings (same for Left & Right):

Spectrum Analyser

FILLED DISPLAY: No (I prefer lines)
2nd SPECTRUM: No (looks too messy, but sometimes good if set to RT MAX)
TYPE: RT AVG
2nd TYPE: RT MAX (if active)
BLOCK SIZE: 8192
OVERLAP: 93.8 (very smooth)
AVG TIME: 6000 (very slow)

Display Range

Smoothing: 1/6 OCT (Or larger for general "overview")
FREQ LOW: 9.9
FREQ HIGH: 22.1K
RANGE LOW: -66.1
RANGE HIGH: -17.8
SLOPE: 3.00 (Gives a flat line with pink noise, that I use for lining up stereo signals)

I usually have the meters and stats hidden, as I am using other plugins for these (Sonoris Meter, Elephant etc.)

As you can tell, mine is a very averaged/slow setting which I like for seeing the overall "shape" of a track, although it therefore doesn't show much quick transient information.

huejafink and wado, thanks for posting your presets, will check them today.

Interesting that quite a few people like the earlier version more. I stuck with that for a long time too, as the new version wouldn't work well on my old PC, but I switched to the new one after I upgraded.

I think it's weird that the block size affects level... Might have to set mine to 4096 instead. Would I be right in thinking that a higher block size will be better for looking at lower frequencies specifically?
#10
30th December 2012
Old 30th December 2012
  #10
Gear nut
 
DonM's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 140

DonM is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanddigger1 View Post
I prefer the older versions too.
Agreed on the older version. Thanks everyone for this discussion. Not to hijack the thread but I would like to hear your comments comparing Span to BlueCat's FA.

-D
Hermetech Mastering
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#11
30th December 2012
Old 30th December 2012
  #11
Lives for gear
 
Hermetech Mastering's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Milan

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Hermetech Mastering is online now
Never tried the BlueCat, is it also free?

Anyone have a link for the older SPAN now? Think I deleted it...
#12
30th December 2012
Old 30th December 2012
  #12
Gear nut
 
DonM's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 140

DonM is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Babaluma View Post
Never tried the BlueCat, is it also free?

Anyone have a link for the older SPAN now? Think I deleted it...
BCFA Free HERE

-D
Hermetech Mastering
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#13
30th December 2012
Old 30th December 2012
  #13
Lives for gear
 
Hermetech Mastering's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Milan

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Hermetech Mastering is online now
Thanks, will check it out.
#14
30th December 2012
Old 30th December 2012
  #14
Lives for gear
 
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,321

OpusOfTrolls is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Babaluma View Post
I think it's weird that the block size affects level... Might have to set mine to 4096 instead. Would I be right in thinking that a higher block size will be better for looking at lower frequencies specifically?
Yes it is better in so far as resolution, but the transient events will be slower unless window overlap is used. FFTs do not like transients without good windowing and overlap.
#15
31st December 2012
Old 31st December 2012
  #15
Lives for gear
 
teebaum's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: zurich

teebaum is online now
;-)
Attached Thumbnails
Your Voxengo SPAN settings-span.jpg  
#16
2nd January 2013
Old 2nd January 2013
  #16
Lives for gear
 
TranscendingM's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,039

Send a message via Skype™ to TranscendingM
TranscendingM is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Babaluma View Post
... Might have to set mine to 4096 instead. Would I be right in thinking that a higher block size will be better for looking at lower frequencies specifically?
Yup, the higher the resolution here the better one can track the low frequencies with accuracy.
#17
2nd January 2013
Old 2nd January 2013
  #17
Gear nut
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 85

Prabha is offline
Hi Guys,

At least in Soundscape, SPAN forgets all of its RMS, Peak and frequency display maximum values after closing the GUI and re-opening it.

Does this happen to you also in other DAWS?
__________________
Juan Pablo Quezada
Santuario Sonico
Chile

Hermetech Mastering
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#18
2nd January 2013
Old 2nd January 2013
  #18
Lives for gear
 
Hermetech Mastering's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Milan

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Hermetech Mastering is online now
No, you can save a preset and then set it to "use as default" and it will always be the default, despite what software you use it in.
#19
3rd January 2013
Old 3rd January 2013
  #19
Gear nut
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 85

Prabha is offline
Babaluma, I don't mean the paremeters but the maximum registered values for peak, RMS and so on...

Let's say you want to know what the maximum peak value of your song is, but close the SPAN GUI. When you open SPAN again it won't show the maximum peak value for the time its GUI was closed....
Hermetech Mastering
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#20
3rd January 2013
Old 3rd January 2013
  #20
Lives for gear
 
Hermetech Mastering's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Milan

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Hermetech Mastering is online now
ah, i see what you mean! i think it does that in my software too (audiomulch and samplitude).
#21
26th March 2013
Old 26th March 2013
  #21
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,217

beat you down is offline
any of you know how set up routing for multi track analysis with span in pro tools?
seems possible, can't find any tuts on how to do this in pro tools though.

thanks.
Hermetech Mastering
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#22
27th March 2013
Old 27th March 2013
  #22
Lives for gear
 
Hermetech Mastering's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Milan

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Hermetech Mastering is online now
Apparently, you can't use SPAN for multi-track, if you want that functionality you have to buy the GlissEQ, but I could be wrong, check the manual and the Voxengo forum.
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Topic:
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
macleodgrant / Music Computers
9
PureArtist / Music Computers
0
AlexLakis / Drums!
32
sethbrand_12 / So much gear, so little time!
10
Ace'Lo / Rap + Hip Hop engineering & production
7

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.