Login / Register
 
Plextools under Parallels (Mac)
New Reply
Subscribe
finetuner
Thread Starter
#1
3rd August 2012
Old 3rd August 2012
  #1
Lives for gear
 
finetuner's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,003

Thread Starter
finetuner is offline
Plextools under Parallels (Mac)

Today i installed Parallels to run Plextools on my MacPro with onboard Plexwriter Premium 2.

The writer is recognized and Plextools' built-in cd player plays discs, reads titles just fine.

On Q-check, C1/C2 test however, it scans the tracks ok and then returns an error message: invalid parameter (code 052400) and quits the test.

Could this be a specific preference setting i'm overlooking?


Updates:
- drive is set to slave mode (it's the second optical drive)
- test speed regardless
- according to Windows the writer's driver is up to date

Thanks,
Peter
__________________
Peter van 't Riet
FineTune Mastering
acorneau
Verified Member
#2
3rd August 2012
Old 3rd August 2012
  #2
Gear addict
 
acorneau's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 481

Verified Member
acorneau is offline
Don't have a good answer for you but you might also make sure the drive's firmware is up to the most recent version.

Good luck.
__________________
Allen
---
Allen Corneau Mastering
http://allencorneau.com/

"There is no display that can tell you when it sounds bad."
-Greg Reierson
aleatoric
Verified Member
#3
3rd August 2012
Old 3rd August 2012
  #3
Lives for gear
 
aleatoric's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,704

Verified Member
aleatoric is offline
What version of Windows are you running?

XP here installed via Bootcamp with a Plextor PX-716UF. No issues.

I've heard of people having problems with Plextools running on more recent Windows versions.

Parallels might have something to do with it too. Why not use Bootcamp?
__________________

Mark Trewella
Full Circle Mastering
finetuner
Thread Starter
#4
4th August 2012
Old 4th August 2012
  #4
Lives for gear
 
finetuner's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,003

Thread Starter
finetuner is offline
I'm using XP and indeed i've used Plextools under Bootcamp on a dedicated MacMini (external Plex drive via firewire) without issues.

However the Mini died, and since DDP almost took over i wondered if i could test the occasional CDR on the main system without the hassle of restarting for Bootcamp.

I've read that some folks here use Parallels for the same purpose with success.


@ Allen: good idea, will check firmware.
acorneau
Verified Member
#5
4th August 2012
Old 4th August 2012
  #5
Gear addict
 
acorneau's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 481

Verified Member
acorneau is offline
I'm running W7 via Bootcamp on a MacBook Pro here and it seems to run just fine (when my drives are actually behaving, of course).
finetuner
Thread Starter
#6
6th August 2012
Old 6th August 2012
  #6
Lives for gear
 
finetuner's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,003

Thread Starter
finetuner is offline
Update

This morning i built in a different Plexwriter, a Premium 1, which i'd been using successfully before under bootcamp.

Same problem.
Unit is recognized, plays, burns, Q- check C1 / C2 test shows and scans disc but then fails to commence the actual test.

The hardware seems functioning well but somehow Parallels and Plextools don't communicate optima forma yet?
inlinenl
Verified Member
#7
6th August 2012
Old 6th August 2012
  #7
Lives for gear
 
inlinenl's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,093

Verified Member
inlinenl is offline
Why no small Pc for checks & internet ... keeping your mac slim & fit .. I love straight engines ..

small pc ... well < € 100
__________________
Wim Bult
www.inlinemastering.com
finetuner
Thread Starter
#8
6th August 2012
Old 6th August 2012
  #8
Lives for gear
 
finetuner's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,003

Thread Starter
finetuner is offline
workaround

Seems to be a controller issue.

Running the Plexwriter in an external box with usb (Parallels doesn't do firewire) works.
inlinenl
Verified Member
#9
7th August 2012
Old 7th August 2012
  #9
Lives for gear
 
inlinenl's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,093

Verified Member
inlinenl is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by finetuner View Post
Seems to be a controller issue.

Running the Plexwriter in an external box with usb (Parallels doesn't do firewire) works.
Peter is now ...
jamesp
Verified Member
#10
7th August 2012
Old 7th August 2012
  #10
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: The wilds of Hampshire, UK
Posts: 530

Verified Member
jamesp is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by finetuner View Post
Seems to be a controller issue.

Running the Plexwriter in an external box with usb (Parallels doesn't do firewire) works.
Do you have any other CD related software running in the background? Plextools doesn't always play well if you have certain CD drivers running.

James.
__________________
James Perrett - Audio mastering and restoration
http://www.jrpmusic.net
#11
7th August 2012
Old 7th August 2012
  #11
Gear addict
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 329

Send a message via AIM to Jperkinski
Jperkinski is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by finetuner View Post
Today i installed Parallels to run Plextools on my MacPro with onboard Plexwriter Premium 2.

The writer is recognized and Plextools' built-in cd player plays discs, reads titles just fine.

On Q-check, C1/C2 test however, it scans the tracks ok and then returns an error message: invalid parameter (code 052400) and quits the test.

Could this be a specific preference setting i'm overlooking?


Updates:
- drive is set to slave mode (it's the second optical drive)
- test speed regardless
- according to Windows the writer's driver is up to date

Thanks,
Peter
I believe that I had this same issue a few years back and it ended up being that I had to use a USB connection rather than FireWire to connect the enclosure to the Mac. I would sugget trying that.

I have a Premium and Premium II that both work great running Parallels on my Mac Pro. I do however have to launch PlexTools, tell it to rescan for devices, wait for it to crash, relaunch Plextools and then it works fine. Haven't had time to troubleshoot why it always crashes the first time after telling Plextools to rescan devices.
Riccardo
Verified Member
#12
7th August 2012
Old 7th August 2012
  #12
Mastering Moderator
 
Riccardo's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Always on the Run
Posts: 3,178

Verified Member
Riccardo is offline
Works fine here, desktop Mac Pro, bootcamp on a dedicated extra internal drive. USB, doesn't work with firewire.
Also works fine on my Macbook with a partitioned drive with bootcamp. Only tested USB on the Macbook Pro so can't comment on firewire functionality.
__________________
Velvet Room Mastering



"Can you imagine how great the Beatles or Pink Floyd could have sounded if they had used better cables?

I expect a Nobel prize to someday be awarded to an audiophile cable designer, as they clearly are way ahead of the rest of us.
" - DC -
finetuner
Thread Starter
#13
7th August 2012
Old 7th August 2012
  #13
Lives for gear
 
finetuner's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,003

Thread Starter
finetuner is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by inlinenl View Post
Peter is now ...
Though i wished for it to work with an internal drive, yes, i'm glad i came this far


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesp View Post
Do you have any other CD related software running in the background?
Nope


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jperkinski View Post
... it ended up being that I had to use a USB connection rather than FireWire to connect the enclosure to the Mac. I would sugget trying that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riccardo View Post
Also works fine on my Macbook with a partitioned drive with bootcamp. Only tested USB on the Macbook Pro so can't comment on firewire functionality.
We're on the same page now - see post 8

Firewire works with bootcamp, but is not supported yet by Parallels.
WBM
#14
8th August 2012
Old 8th August 2012
  #14
WBM
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Argentina, Buenos Aires

WBM is offline
Why use it on a mac? just get a cheap laptop with XP, when I burn the musicians reference CD on a Mac pro, I already test the master on a PC and print the CD Label, The client leave fast, so I can sit on my living and drink a cold one.
__________________
Wave Balance Mastering
inlinenl
Verified Member
#15
8th August 2012
Old 8th August 2012
  #15
Lives for gear
 
inlinenl's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,093

Verified Member
inlinenl is offline
Peter, maybe you could try different jumper terminations on the CDRW .. ( when you have the plex_drive in internal setting ) ...
try it as master, try it as slave ???? etc. or / disable the internal mac_drive etc. etc / give it it's own IDE channel ....
mmm ... you'll never know ... it's a comp/software you know :-)))
who wants to write master disks on USB ... it's a bit of a no, no ....
finetuner
Thread Starter
#16
8th August 2012
Old 8th August 2012
  #16
Lives for gear
 
finetuner's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,003

Thread Starter
finetuner is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by inlinenl View Post
Peter, maybe you could try different jumper terminations on the CDRW .. ( when you have the plex_drive in internal setting ) ...
try it as master, try it as slave ???? etc. or / disable the internal mac_drive etc. etc / give it it's own IDE channel...
Did all of that ! Made no difference. Thanks for thinking along


Quote:
Originally Posted by inlinenl View Post
who wants to write master disks on USB ... it's a bit of a no, no ....
I know and i don't !!
Writing is done on an internal Plex drive.
For error checking only i wouldn't mind using one of my spare Plexwriters in an external usb drive. Just as long as it doesn't influence the outcome. I've had successful passes this way already.
finetuner
Thread Starter
#17
8th August 2012
Old 8th August 2012
  #17
Lives for gear
 
finetuner's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,003

Thread Starter
finetuner is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by inlinenl View Post
Why no small Pc for checks & internet ... keeping your mac slim & fit .. I love straight engines ..

small pc ... well < € 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by WBM View Post
Why use it on a mac? just get a cheap laptop with XP, when I burn the musicians reference CD on a Mac pro, I already test the master on a PC and print the CD Label, The client leave fast, so I can sit on my living and drink a cold one.
Granted it does make sense. Someday i will overcome my pc allergy.
#18
26th December 2012
Old 26th December 2012
  #18
Gear maniac
 
Royer121's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 156

Royer121 is offline
Plextools Error Code 052400

Hey Guys,

having the same problem here:

Win XP SP3 run on Parallels 8
Plextor 755A in Lacie Enclosure (USB/FW w. Oxford chipset)
Driver Version: 5.1.2535.0
Firmware: V1.08
Plextools XL V3.16

When running the C1/C2 tests I get the Error Code 052400.

Did anyone have success with different jumper settings ?
Any workarounds that did it for you ?

I was so looking forward to getting this old piece of pc gear
but now I'm getting more and more sick of the way to use it !

Any help is appreciated.

Ray
__________________
The right portion of distortion !
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Topic:
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
Vitaly / Mastering forum
92
FFTT / So much gear, so little time!
3
lemix / Mastering forum
35
Shaman / High end
4

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.