Login / Register

Spectrograms of vinyl- What am I seeing here?
New Reply
Subscribe
tkr
11th May 2012
Old 11th May 2012
Gear maniac

Spectrograms of vinyl- What am I seeing here?

In a bout of temporary insanity I took advantage of MH`s offer and bought Spectrafoo complete at a reduced price. I`ve been playing around with it, and among other things, I`ve made spectrograms of some of my LPs. Mostly out of curiosity about the HF content of vinyl vs. digital.
I got sidetracked right away by some of the strange spectrograms I found, because it seems to me that that digital recordings still keep their sonic signatures even after being transferred to vinyl. Maybe not a surprising find for you pros, but surprising for me at least.
But I am a complete amateur and newbie, so I was hoping that someone on this forum could explain to me what I am seeing:

1) Harry Belafonte at Carnegie Hall. RCA reissue, 180 g. vinyl. The strangest picture- some HF bands around 20 kHz on both channels. This is not an artifact, I kept the settings and made spectrograms of other recordings afterwards, and those bands weren`t there.

2) Jennifer Warnes, Famous Blue Raincoat, Sonet LP, bought by me in 1990. Bandlimited? If so, then why? 48kHz digital recording?

3) Jackson Browne, Running on empty All analog, I`m sure.

Thankful for any help.

Yours tkr
Attached Thumbnails
Spectrograms of vinyl- What am I seeing here?-harry-b.jpg   Spectrograms of vinyl- What am I seeing here?-291222d1336586828t-jennifer-warnes-vinyl-jennifer-normal.jpg   Spectrograms of vinyl- What am I seeing here?-jackson-b.jpg  
11th May 2012
Old 11th May 2012
Gear maniac

For the first one, it's not unheard for some recordings to have resonant peaks or tones just outside of the normal hearing range. Sometimes this is the fault of the recording gear, sometimes it's something in the chain itself.