Audio Controller
Jonathan Race
Thread Starter
#1
24th February 2012
Old 24th February 2012
  #1
Gear addict
 
Jonathan Race's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Nottingham

Thread Starter
Audio Controller

Morning!

I'll explain my situation so far. I have my benchmark DAC connected to my mac by optical connection and then from the DAC to my K&H O300's

Now the DAC unfortunately does suffer from a bit of crackle when I adjust the volume (something I've heard happens to a quite of couple of units after time)

What I'm looking for is some kind of audio controller to be able to adjust the monitoring level with (Either rack mount or on the desk would be handy)

Not looking for anything flash, just 1 or 2 stereo outs with headphones out. Without degrading the sound too much.

Does anybody have any thoughts on the best way to go about this?
#2
24th February 2012
Old 24th February 2012
  #2
Lives for gear
 
finetuner's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,023

Hi Jonathan,

I've had the pot replaced in my DAC1 for that reason and the problem appeared again after a year. A common problem indeed.

Here it's only at the beginning of the day so i just quickly jog the dial until it stops crackling and it remains quiet the rest of the day of use.
I can live with that rather than adding another unit to the monitor path.

Best way probably is to replace the potmeter with a better type??
mmm ... should ask Benchmark about that.


(sorry i know it's not an answer to your question)
Jonathan Race
Thread Starter
#3
24th February 2012
Old 24th February 2012
  #3
Gear addict
 
Jonathan Race's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Nottingham

Thread Starter
I've been doing that so far to clear the crackle away, my only worry is, will this problem get worse if I keep doing this to the pot?

How long have you been running yours for if you don't mind me asking?
lowland
Verified Member
#4
24th February 2012
Old 24th February 2012
  #4
Lives for gear
 
lowland's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Essex UK
Posts: 1,034

Verified Member
Jonathan -

Have a look at the Grace Design range: not cheap, but there are simpler options that might suit, and they sound (and look) very good.

Alternatively, you could bypass the DAC-1's pot with a passive attentuator - Goldpoint do some ready-made boxes, for example.

And then there's this -

http://www.dv247.com/studio-equipmen...enuator--51232
#5
24th February 2012
Old 24th February 2012
  #5
Lives for gear
 
finetuner's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,023

No, it doesn't get worse (yet).
I had the first one replaced after 2 years of which half a year crackling approx.
Then this new one started to crackle after a year and a half also. Has been like this for 4 years now without getting worse though. And the trick works for the rest of the day.
Jonathan Race
Thread Starter
#6
24th February 2012
Old 24th February 2012
  #6
Gear addict
 
Jonathan Race's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Nottingham

Thread Starter
Thanks guys, that SM series looks pretty nifty and at a nice price point. With it being a passive design does that mean it will minimise audio degradation?
Jerry Tubb
Verified Member
#7
25th February 2012
Old 25th February 2012
  #7
Lives for gear
 
Jerry Tubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,340
My Recordings/Credits

Verified Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowland View Post
Alternatively, you could bypass the DAC-1's pot with a passive attentuator - Goldpoint do some ready-made boxes, for example.
Exactly!

Quite happy with my Goldpoint controller.

JT
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
coolcat / Electronic Music Instruments & Electronic Music Production
21
frontierfran / So much gear, so little time!
8
Brad McGowan / So much gear, so little time!
11
OSX86 / So much gear, so little time!
2

Forum Jump
 
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.