Subscribe
dreamsongs
27th February 2006
Old 27th February 2006
Lives for gear

Best Mastering Plug-In ?

Hi All..

I have Cubase SX3...

Bottomline, what's the best mastering suite out there ?

Or, is anyone with a DAW mastering with outboard gear ?

Dreamsongs LLC

" The dream don't come any closer on it's own, you have to go after it " Me...!
27th February 2006
Old 27th February 2006
Gear nut

I just got the TC Master X3 and for a crappy mixer like myself it saved me on a demo I just did. I am fortunate to be surrounded by some great mixers who usually mix my productions but I was on my own on this one. Got my mix feeling good, turned on the Master X, tweaked a preset, and voila'...sounded damn good. Don't know if it works for Cubase but worth a demo if it does.
27th February 2006
Old 27th February 2006
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

I don't have experience with many alternatives, and I'm not a mastering engineer by a long shot, but I like the Waves mastering plugs, esp. now that they have the L3 for an alternate to the L2. I sometimes use a Sony Inflator and/or the Cranesong Phoenix along with the Waves. Usually a hardware EQ, also. When I do "psuedo-mastering".

I've used Isotope Ozone3 - has a lot of cool presets, and sounds okay, but not as rich or clear as the Waves stuff to me.

T-Racks - I like the lo-fi, gritty sound of these, but more of a specialized sound than an overall useful one.

I haven't tried the tc M6000 plugs (are the TDM available yet?).
dreamsongs
27th February 2006
Old 27th February 2006
Lives for gear

I need something that has these...

1) Limiting
2) Multi band compression
3) Eq
4) Expander/Filtering

Waves don't have these or do they ?
27th February 2006
Old 27th February 2006
Lives for gear

yes waves does.... in the mastering bundel.... my "quick" rough mix has:

LinMB multi band comp

LinEQ Linear phase eq

L2 brickwall