Login / Register
 
Editing the cd_text.cdt file?
New Reply
Subscribe
Darius van H
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#1
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #1
Lives for gear
 
Darius van H's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,742

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Darius van H is offline
Editing the cd_text.cdt file?

You all know the routine: the DDP master is already made, then the client spots a mistake in the CD text (even though you clearly asked them to check and approve it before hand )

Soooooo, i seem to remember reading on the interwebs that it's possible to just edit the CD text file (after which of course a new MD5 will need to be generated).

When i export a DDP from Sequoia, it generates a file called cd_text.cdt.

Could anyone tell me if this is possible and, if so, how i go about editing it? (which program to use?)?

Thanks! .............. Darius
__________________
www.amsterdammastering.com
da goose
Verified Member
#2
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #2
Lives for gear
 
da goose's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: the Netherlands

Verified Member
da goose is offline
Some time ago i just opened the cd text file with windows notepad to check what it looks like.
I think it should be possible to edit it this way though i remember it was not just clear text but also some 'strange' characters that i don't think it's a good idea to edit. So just edit the text that needs to be changed and i think you will be OK.

Just give it go with notepad, burn a CD from the editted ddp/cd text and see what happens.
__________________

Da Goose Music Mastering | Jeffrey de Gans
www.dagoosemusic.nl
Dedicated Analog mastering running on Solarpower
Darius van H
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#3
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #3
Lives for gear
 
Darius van H's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,742

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Darius van H is offline
Ooohh, that sounds a bit scary, who's to say the "strange" characters don't get garbled on opening in notepad?

In my experience factories are very fussy about any discrepancies in a DDP!

Hmmm
da goose
Verified Member
#4
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #4
Lives for gear
 
da goose's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: the Netherlands

Verified Member
da goose is offline
The good thing about notepad is that it doesn't do anything with text unless you want it to. So i think you could just try, leave the strange characters alone and triple check.
On second thought.. can't you just import the ddp in sonoris ddp creator, edit the CD text and export again as ddp? will also give you a new md5.
Darius van H
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#5
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #5
Lives for gear
 
Darius van H's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,742

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Darius van H is offline
Could do, but that would be just as much work as exporting a new DDP from Sequoia!
PieterS
Verified Member
#6
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #6
Gear Head
 
PieterS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 66

Verified Member
PieterS is offline
don't use notepad, each line in the cdtext file has a checksum!

With the DDP Creator you can import the DDP, make the changes and only export the cdtext.cdt file in the Tools menu. No need to export the DDP. The only thing that might go wrong is that the file size of the original cdtext.cdt file is stored in one of the ddp files and the new file can have another size. The duplication plant might ask about that. You can test that by reimporting the DDP again (in version 2.0.4) and see if you get a warning.
__________________
Pieter Stenekes



www.sonorissoftware.com
IIIrd
Verified Member
#7
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #7
Lives for gear
 
IIIrd's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 928

Verified Member
IIIrd is offline
Couldn't the factory edit the cd text within their eclipse system?. I would have thought so.
__________________
Splglnie swa rnvee my stnogrpotin

Sean Magee
Abbey Road Studios
Darius van H
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#8
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #8
Lives for gear
 
Darius van H's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,742

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Darius van H is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by IIIrd View Post
Couldn't the factory edit the cd text within their eclipse system?. I would have thought so.
In theory, yes, but in practice, unlikely they'd be willing, and would certainly charge the client to do it.


@Pieter, thanks, sound to me like it would just be safest to re-export a new DDP from Sequoia!

Would be lovely if you could persuade Magix to incorporate DDPC into Sequoia!
IIIrd
Verified Member
#9
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #9
Lives for gear
 
IIIrd's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 928

Verified Member
IIIrd is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darius van H View Post
In theory, yes, but in practice, unlikely they'd be willing, and would certainly charge the client to do it.


@Pieter, thanks, sound to me like it would just be safest to re-export a new DDP from Sequoia!

Would be lovely if you could persuade Magix to incorporate DDPC into Sequoia!
Seems arse about face really. I've always thought stuff like that should be factory things...ISRC's ICPN's and cd text. I'm biased as I'm dyslexic, but it strikes me that we do the audio and make our master, then the other numerical nonsence should be done plantside...if only.
I try and avoid cd text , copying via plextools or verifying can be torturous.
Jerry Tubb
Verified Member
#10
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #10
Lives for gear
 
Jerry Tubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,330
My Recordings/Credits

Verified Member
Jerry Tubb is offline
I do this sometimes on my Mac with Text Wrangler.

If I need to generate a new DDP instead for a simple text correction, after the audio has already been proofed and approved, I'll use the image.DAT file from the approved DDP folder instead, just drop it in place of the the new one in the new DDP folder. Course you have to check that nothing else has changed, other than text characters.

JT
__________________
Terra Nova Mastering
Celebrating 24 years of Mastering!
Using analog, digital, tape, tubes, transformers, plug-ins, hardware, etc... whatever best serves the project.
dcollins
Verified Member
#11
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #11
Lives for gear
 
dcollins's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Hollywood CA
Posts: 3,214

Verified Member
dcollins is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Tubb View Post
I do this sometimes on my Mac with Text Wrangler.

If I need to generate a new DDP instead for a simple text correction, after the audio has already been proofed and approved, I'll use the image.DAT file from the approved DDP folder instead, just drop it in place of the the new one in the new DDP folder. Course you have to check that nothing else has changed, other than text characters.
So you then generate a new checksum for the changed line and add that as well?


DC
__________________
Dave Collins Mastering
www.collinsaudio.com
+1 323 467 5570
Darius van H
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#12
28th April 2011
Old 28th April 2011
  #12
Lives for gear
 
Darius van H's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,742

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Darius van H is offline
I've come to the conclusion that the few minutes saved by fiddling around with text file isn't worth the risk that something goes wrong, so will just keep exporting a new DDP - i can do a null test (or a checksum compare) on the two DAT files to save having to re-listen.
Jerry Tubb
Verified Member
#13
29th April 2011
Old 29th April 2011
  #13
Lives for gear
 
Jerry Tubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,330
My Recordings/Credits

Verified Member
Jerry Tubb is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcollins View Post
So you then generate a new checksum for the changed line and add that as well?


DC
Hi Dave, as always you bring up interesting questions.

I'll then re-open the final DDP with soundBlade's (or PMCDs) DDP Option and check the text, ISRC, PQ Marks, audio, etc. and verify that all is well, and proceed to burn discs and/or zip the DDP folder for upload to an FTP server.

A practical approach, but no problems encountered so far.

IIRC a checksum is automatically added to the zipped DDP file when you use the "compress" feature of Mac's OSX.

Perhaps you mean a checksum between the EDL Session and the DDP image, before zipping the DDP for upload delivery?

Please elaborate.

JT
#14
29th April 2011
Old 29th April 2011
  #14
Gear nut
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: nearby Lodenice, CZ
Posts: 81

GeorgeZ is offline
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
zapsmith9 / So much gear, so little time!
1
spiderman / Post Production forum!
2
2leod / The Good News Channel
11

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.