Login / Register
 
Wavelab 7 for Mac Hurts the Eyes!
New Reply
Subscribe
siddhu
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#1
6th January 2011
Old 6th January 2011
  #1
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 684

Thread Starter
Verified Member
siddhu is offline
Wavelab 7 for Mac Hurts the Eyes!

Just installed Wavelab 7, and I had no idea it was a time machine!

I feel I've been transported to the days of Windows 95!

The feature set and functionality are fantastic, but it really feels dated. I'll post screenshots later.
__________________

Kama Sutra Lovers
#2
6th January 2011
Old 6th January 2011
  #2
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 2,283

HomeProducer is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by siddhu View Post
Just installed Wavelab 7, and I had no idea it was a time machine!

I feel I've been transported to the days of Windows 95!

The feature set and functionality are fantastic, but it really feels dated. I'll post screenshots later.
sounds great!

Do you use it with leopard or snow leopard?
siddhu
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#3
6th January 2011
Old 6th January 2011
  #3
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 684

Thread Starter
Verified Member
siddhu is offline
Snow Leopard
#4
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #4
Gear maniac
 
trmchenry's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 233

trmchenry is offline
The GUI of Wavelab hasn't changed much over the years. It's functionality has greatly improved. The same could be said about Pro Tools.

What it lacks in slick graphics it more than makes up for in functionality and ease of use.
Jerry Tubb
Verified Member
#5
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #5
Lives for gear
 
Jerry Tubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,327
My Recordings/Credits

Verified Member
Jerry Tubb is offline
A producer/engineer I recently worked with bought WL7 hoping to use it for some quick CD burns, after a few hours of head scratching and eye strain, he gave up in frustration. I tried to explain that you have to find the mysterious hidden Montage & CD Wizard modes...

JT
__________________
Terra Nova Mastering
Celebrating 24 years of Mastering!
Using analog, digital, tape, tubes, transformers, plug-ins, hardware, etc... whatever best serves the project.
#6
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #6
Gear addict
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 372

Dave Davis is offline
I'm a part time teacher, and have tried to use WL7 Mac for my class. Sorry, but "ease of use" would not be something I'd accuse WL7 of possessing. It's not easy for anyone to use... when I go to Steiny's forums it's obvious that even previous users agree that WL7 is a step back in the "ease of use" department from WL6. For instance to open a DDP you have to open a specific workspace (not mentioned in the docs), and then find the little widget to open a local menu from a subwindow of that workspace. Otherwise it's hidden entirely in the default view; the fact that a "file open" tool isn't in a main window isn't just a quirk but a violation of both Windows and Mac OS guidelines that confounds users with obscurity. This stuff seems like a holdover from DOS, out of place in a modern tool and hostile to users. Same can be said of many file operations and menu conventions.

Now, in terms of functionality I'm with you. It's a terrific, powerful tool. Even if it's not your main axe, it's worth having for some of it's well implemented features and tools. For instance file compare is unique and generally well designed (too bad the reports aren't saveable as text but just pop up graphical windows). The batch processor and quick disc burning tool are also quite cool and well done.

My main gripe is lack of manual. A text-dump of the help file saved as a PDF is NOT a manual. For newbies, I'd recommend finding the WL6 manual - it provides a better overview of the structure and paradigm of the app. Oh, btw - the web-enabled help on a mac can cause playback hiccups when there are task priority conflicts, so it's best to keep that close when doing critical work, like captures and real time outboard processing (which reminds me of another cool feature - you can batch-process with outboard).

-d-
__________________
Dave Davis • the all night party
#7
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #7
Lives for gear
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago west suburbs, IL
Posts: 2,142

Yetti is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Tubb View Post
A producer/engineer I recently worked with bought WL7 hoping to use it for some quick CD burns, after a few hours of head scratching and eye strain, he gave up in frustration. I tried to explain that you have to find the mysterious hidden Montage & CD Wizard modes...

JT
I almost gave up on Wavelab 7 too....I had bought Wavelab 6 and did an immediate upgrade to Wavelab 7.
Without any instruction manual and only the basic "help" tab menu, I couldn't figure out the logic of how to do the most basic tasks.
I searched for wavelab 7 tutorials in google, and I ordered a tutorial DVD from a place called ASK Video.
I can't recommend the tutorial enough...awesome easy to understand teaching. The program does way more than I need it to do, but at least I know how to do whatever I want to do in it now.
__________________
Yetti-
Table Of Tone
Verified Member
#8
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #8
Lives for gear
 
Table Of Tone's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,701

Verified Member
Table Of Tone is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Davis View Post
I'm a part time teacher, and have tried to use WL7 Mac for my class. Sorry, but "ease of use" would not be something I'd accuse WL7 of possessing. It's not easy for anyone to use... when I go to Steiny's forums it's obvious that even previous users agree that WL7 is a step back in the "ease of use" department from WL6.

Now, in terms of functionality I'm with you. It's a terrific, powerful tool. Even if it's not your main axe, it's worth having for some of it's well implemented features and tools. For instance file compare is unique and generally well designed (too bad the reports aren't saveable as text but just pop up graphical windows). The batch processor and quick disc burning tool are also quite cool and well done.

My main gripe is lack of manual. A text-dump of the help file saved as a PDF is NOT a manual. For newbies, I'd recommend finding the WL6 manual - it provides a better overview of the structure and paradigm of the app. Oh, btw - the web-enabled help on a mac can cause playback hiccups when there are task priority conflicts, so it's best to keep that close when doing critical work, like captures and real time outboard processing (which reminds me of another cool feature - you can batch-process with outboard).

-d-
I'm with you on that!

I upgraded to WL7 but still use WL6.
inlinenl
Verified Member
#9
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #9
Lives for gear
 
inlinenl's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,102

Verified Member
inlinenl is offline
aarrrghh .. musicians/teachers/mac-users .. complete M*****

how's the DDP export doing and the denoise/de-click tools .....
__________________
Wim Bult
www.inlinemastering.com
#10
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #10
Gear nut
 
rondr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 93

rondr is offline
Quote:
I upgraded to WL7 but still use WL6.
Same here too. Steinberg lists many new features, such as DDP, as a selling point to upgrade from 6 to 7. What they fail to mention are the many features that were removed in the upgrade process. WL6 is much more user friendly than WL7.
inlinenl
Verified Member
#11
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #11
Lives for gear
 
inlinenl's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,102

Verified Member
inlinenl is offline
OK, I've never used WL 7 ..

But don't you think a complex software application needs some time to learn .. ??? these days of instant satisfaction people seem to expect to understand the whole package in a blink of an eye, or at least in 30min ..... expect a long learning curve on any complete software package if starting from zero ... even if you have been working with some other application, it's still difficult ... I'm using wavelab seriously for a long time, but still I learn new things, because clients push me there ...
siddhu
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#12
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #12
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 684

Thread Starter
Verified Member
siddhu is offline
Talk about a time machine ....

If I had been able to demo it before buying, maybe I would have gone with something else! I have not made a purchase in ages that I'm not sure about as I always demo stuff to see if it works for ME. But with Wavelab 7 Mac, my winning streak may be over!
Attached Thumbnails
Wavelab 7 for Mac Hurts the Eyes!-screen-shot-2011-01-07-3.51.23-pm.jpg  
#13
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #13
Gear addict
 
ctms777's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Maastricht

ctms777 is offline
I've bought Wavelab 7 for Mac. I still haven't heard it because it wont play sound through my Protools HD system, no matter what I tried.

I've used it for MP3 conversion, but it generates WAV-files instead, renaming it to .mp3 won't cure it because it's still a wav container with mp3 data.

It's help system and lack of manual is very frustrating for a new user like me. And it feels like working in windows 95.

I've made a DDP-file by ear, at least that worked.
#14
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #14
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 2,283

HomeProducer is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by siddhu View Post
Talk about a time machine ....

If I had been able to demo it before buying, maybe I would have gone with something else! I have not made a purchase in ages that I'm not sure about as I always demo stuff to see if it works for ME. But with Wavelab 7 Mac, my winning streak may be over!
it looks much uglier than wavelab 6 on a PC
#15
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #15
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 2,283

HomeProducer is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctms777 View Post
I've bought Wavelab 7 for Mac. I still haven't heard it because it wont play sound through my Protools HD system, no matter what I tried.

I've used it for MP3 conversion, but it generates WAV-files instead, renaming it to .mp3 won't cure it because it's still a wav container with mp3 data.

It's help system and lack of manual is very frustrating for a new user like me. And it feels like working in windows 95.

I've made a DDP-file by ear, at least that worked.
It does generate mp3 with the right extension, if you select mp3 and not "wav" in the "save" dialog box, its a bit confusing for the start. I know there is a way to do it wrong. Check it out.
#16
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #16
mymixisbetterthanyours!
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Salzburg / Berlin
Posts: 2,511

kosmokrator is offline
DDP export is fine. So far no plants called me..

Playing back fine through my PTHD-system via CoreAudio.

Wavelab is a great program, but the GUI is one of the worst ever.
PG should really have a talk with the guys at Fabfilter..
__________________
www.just-mix-it.com
siddhu
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#17
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #17
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 684

Thread Starter
Verified Member
siddhu is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by kosmokrator View Post
DDP export is fine. So far no plants called me..

Playing back fine through my PTHD-system via CoreAudio.

Wavelab is a great program, but the GUI is one of the worst ever.
PG should really have a talk with the guys at Fabfilter..
Great Idea!
jdg
Verified Member
#18
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #18
jdg
Lives for gear
 
jdg's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 2,552

Verified Member
jdg is offline
its not hard to use.
but im not sure its ready for prime time (on mac)

and it sure is weird looking.
it is a strange GUI
__________________
nothing helps "suck", not even analog

panicStudios - mastering in seattle
#19
7th January 2011
Old 7th January 2011
  #19
mymixisbetterthanyours!
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Salzburg / Berlin
Posts: 2,511

kosmokrator is offline
DDP export is fine. So far no plants called me..

Playing back fine through my PTHD-system via CoreAudio.

Wavelab is a great program, but the GUI is one of the worst ever.
PG should really have a talk with the guys at Fabfilter..
#20
8th January 2011
Old 8th January 2011
  #20
Lives for gear
 
greggybud's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 1,608

greggybud is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by rondr View Post
Same here too. Steinberg lists many new features, such as DDP, as a selling point to upgrade from 6 to 7. What they fail to mention are the many features that were removed in the upgrade process. WL6 is much more user friendly than WL7.
Other than no CD print, what are the "many features that were removed.?"
da goose
Verified Member
#21
8th January 2011
Old 8th January 2011
  #21
Lives for gear
 
da goose's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: the Netherlands

Verified Member
da goose is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by inlinenl View Post
aarrrghh .. musicians/teachers/mac-users .. complete M*****

how's the DDP export doing and the denoise/de-click tools .....
DDP is export is OK but... no md5 checksum so my standard procedure is make the montage including isrc/cd text etc in WL7 > export as DDP (you actually use the CD burner option and choose DDP instead of CD) and import that in sonoris DDP creator and export that as the final DDP. I trust sonoris more then DDP the WL7 DDP option since it's proven to be working good. Since you don't really see and hear what is going on when using DDP i just gor for my most trusted software, sonoris.
Maybe in the future when more people are working with the DDP option in WL7 and MD5 implemented i will make the switch to WL7 for DDP, just not now.

The denoise/declicking is ok but to be honoust i only used it once and it didn't really work at that time so i can't give you a meaningfull answer when it comes to that. I think it's nice that it's in there and might be usefull some day.

For the rest i really had a love/hate relationship with WL7 but since the 7.01 update i really start to love it and i only went back to WL6 once to check an old montage.
__________________

Da Goose Music Mastering | Jeffrey de Gans
www.dagoosemusic.nl
Dedicated Analog mastering running on Solarpower
#22
8th January 2011
Old 8th January 2011
  #22
Lives for gear
 
TanTan's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,136

TanTan is offline
I've been using WL for years on PC and have always loved it for its great features and great interface. Once I've started using WL7 on Mac it became a PITA. I can't find anything and it feels like you have to be a WL developer in order to use it.. I don't have a PC @ the studio anymore so i'm looking for a WL replacement for Mac after using it for 9 years..
ed littman
Verified Member
#23
8th January 2011
Old 8th January 2011
  #23
Gear addict
 
ed littman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: North Haledon NJ
Posts: 486

Verified Member
ed littman is offline
I'm a dedictaed WL user for many years. I have no interest in upgrading from WL6 as it does what I want & I know it well.
Why fix what aint broke?

Ed
__________________


Analog/Digital Mastering/Editing
http://www.EdLittmanMastering.com
201-824-7860
#24
8th January 2011
Old 8th January 2011
  #24
Gear addict
 
laboso's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 489

laboso is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed littman View Post
I'm a dedictaed WL user for many years. I have no interest in upgrading from WL6 as it does what I want & I know it well.
Why fix what aint broke?
Cause there's people waiting a long time for mac support...
Bonati
Verified Member
#25
8th January 2011
Old 8th January 2011
  #25
Gear nut
 
Bonati's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 144

Verified Member
Bonati is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed littman View Post
I'm a dedictaed WL user for many years. I have no interest in upgrading from WL6 as it does what I want & I know it well. Why fix what aint broke?
Ed - because the "broke" part is that it's PC only. Having a party soon to dump my PCs in the Gowanus canal. You're invited.
__________________
Josh Bonati
Brooklyn, NY
www.bonatimastering.com
#26
8th January 2011
Old 8th January 2011
  #26
Gear addict
 
lematrix's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 478

Send a message via AIM to lematrix Send a message via Skype™ to lematrix
lematrix is offline
I was so happy when wavelab came out for Mac, but now after months ... I don't use it. Its ugly and hard to understand the Workflow. What a PITA!!!
dfegad
__________________
Mathias Roska, www.lematrix.de
kosmasepsilon
Verified Member
#27
8th January 2011
Old 8th January 2011
  #27
Lives for gear
 
kosmasepsilon's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 635

Verified Member
kosmasepsilon is offline
so, what can you use instead, that works the same and better, even, way? i had a go with the demo for the last few days and it seems quite easy. i'd love it to be easier, but noone can have it all :p
ed littman
Verified Member
#28
8th January 2011
Old 8th January 2011
  #28
Gear addict
 
ed littman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: North Haledon NJ
Posts: 486

Verified Member
ed littman is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonati View Post
Ed - because the "broke" part is that it's PC only. Having a party soon to dump my PCs in the Gowanus canal. You're invited.
Ha Ha...just coming from a happy pc prospective.
Ed
#29
16th April 2011
Old 16th April 2011
  #29
Lives for gear
 
illynoise's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,691

illynoise is offline
I agree about the new display, but as a mac user now I can use wavelab on mac natively and I have no reason to use a PC anymore.

I recently used the DDP option, which I found very easy to use. CD's came back sounding great with no issues.

PG is great, it must have been a very difficult process to rewrite a program from to make it work on both platforms. Something they have fought for many years.

It's definitely the best thing on the Mac to master with IMHO. Very Very Very powerful stuff.

Jason
__________________
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Base Jase
Illynoise Music
www.basejase.com
gregor z
Verified Member
#30
22nd April 2011
Old 22nd April 2011
  #30
Gear addict
 
gregor z's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 493

Verified Member
gregor z is offline
Worst software I ever used....and the worst software investment I ever made...

I just hate opening it, it's so un - logical, confusing and ugly.

I use it only for checking DDP images made by Sonoris and occasional start/end edits. When it came out for Mac , I just bought it - without trying the demo. Big mistake.

I think that Steinberg should re-write it from scratch again and hire some MEs to help them "configure" the layout/interface and also some graphic designers.

Its for sale, if someone wants to buy it. Cheap. I'm done with it.
__________________
Gregor Zemljic - http://www.gz-mastering.com
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
Lagerfeldt / Mastering forum
175
Phaidon / Music Computers
45
Jperkinski / Music Computers
3
elpezpr / Music Computers
21
stevetgn / Music Computers
5

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.