Mastering Signal Chains
Old 23rd March 2010
Lives for gear

Mastering Signal Chains

I'm a relatively new engineer to the scene (I've only been doing it for about 2 years now, so forgive my noobishness) but i'm just interested to know what signal chain you pro's use as I'm very interested in becoming a pro mastering engineer myself (eventually!!).
Old 23rd March 2010
Gear maniac

there is no mastering chain
The chain that works is the chains that's needed. You may use 1 comp or 4 comps, 1 eq or 4 eq depending on the material and what is needed.
The only rulme I guess everybody will agree upon is the less processing the better
Old 23rd March 2010
Gear maniac

Hello

Mine is :

DAW playback / EQ (linear phase most) => DA => Analog processing (EQ/COMP) => AD => Digital Processing => back to DAW

Actually this is the Mastering Chain I have, but of course I only use what's needed. You don't want to use some processing if the Audio material don't need it.

Hope that can help

Adrien.
Old 24th March 2010
Lives for gear

Verified Member
I'd just start clicking away at sig files...
Old 3rd July 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by the unik View Post
Hello

Mine is :

DAW playback / EQ (linear phase most) => DA => Analog processing (EQ/COMP) => AD => Digital Processing => back to DAW

Actually this is the Mastering Chain I have, but of course I only use what's needed. You don't want to use some processing if the Audio material don't need it.

Hope that can help

Adrien.
When you use your Linear Phase EQ, what are you using that for?? Are you using both linear phase eq AND Analog eq or are you using one or the other?? And what do you use for digital processing, apart from (just a guess here), digital brickwall limiters?
Old 3rd July 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasteringDan View Post