mixing/mastering in ableton
New Reply
Subscribe
Bemis82
5th January 2010
Old 5th January 2010
Gear interested

mixing/mastering in ableton

Hey, i'm a newbie to Ableton and music production altogether so i'm sure this question has been asked before. The two main problems i'm having (probably the most common) are, when it's exported its too quiet, and sound's very unclear, i'm assuming its from my poor mixing/mastering skills. Anyway, i'm using Ableton to mix/master a track i just did, should i set the EQ's for each of the channel's to 0db (or slightly below), then export each indivdual channel as audio, then mix those WAV's and if needed use EQ or compression on them once i bring each of them into a new Ableton project for mixing? Or is none of this even necessary.
Thanks for the help.
5th January 2010
Old 5th January 2010
Gear maniac

this might be the wrong forum for this question which might be more suited to a mixing forum, but in short...

it's not necessary.

ableton will have all the necessary tools to produce a competent mix the first time around without having to export separately and mixing them again. you're essentially doing the same thing twice.

some advice for mixing (especially if you're working with a computer) is this...

make all adjustments with your eyes closed.

decide if you need to make an adjustment.
grab that virtual fader or virtual knob in ableton with your mouse or trackpad.
close your eyes.
wiggle it around a bit so you don't know where it is.
listen and adjust it solely by ear.
listen.
repeat as necessary!

if you do a mix like that from start to finish i guarantee it'll sound better and whatever mastering engineer you send your tracks on to will probably thank you for it! plus your eyes will be way less jaded from staring at a screen!
8th January 2010
Old 8th January 2010
Gear maniac

You really are talking about a few different skills, that all take a while to develop.