Create WMV files?
Ol' Betsey
Thread Starter
#1
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
  #1
Lives for gear
 
Ol' Betsey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 2,360

Thread Starter
Create WMV files?

Hi guys,

This is probably an obvious question but...

A band I work with have been ask if we want their album streamed from a music magazines website (we do!) but they need WMV files.

How can I create these from the WAV's?

I was hoping I could do it in iTunes but no luck. I'm assuming that's because this is a Windows format?

I'm Mac OSX BTW.

Cheers fellas,

R.
666
#2
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
  #2
666
Gear addict
 
666's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 397

I had to do this to submit a clip to the Arias. flip4mac studio HD did it, but it was a pretty shitty job, but that's just coz of the restrictions they'd accept.
Whitecat
Verified Member
#3
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
  #3
GS Community Manager
 
Whitecat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Surrey / London

Verified Member
You need to buy one of the plug-ins from Flip4Mac - Telestream Flip4Mac WMV - Overview

Which one depends on how much tweakability you need in the output (Studio @ $49 is the minimum!), and whether you need HD. The free one unfortunately doesn't encode, only decodes, so there'll be an expense here one way or another.

It just appears as a QuickTime export option, quite easy to use and the results are, well, passable I guess!
Ol' Betsey
Thread Starter
#4
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
  #4
Lives for gear
 
Ol' Betsey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 2,360

Thread Starter
Thanks guys!

I'll look into those.

Too bad there isn't any freeware available as I'm sure this is going to be a one-off.

Oh well, promotion is promotion and it always seems to cost something, right?

R.
#5
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
  #5
Lives for gear
 
Jesse Graffam's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,149

You seriously don't know ANYONE with Windows that would do this for you?

You would have the benefit (if the website allowed it) of doing WMA v10 Pro which comes in around the quality of PS-AAC about a year ago (before CT's last major quality jump). Which is still pretty OK quality considering the low bitrates.

-j
Ol' Betsey
Thread Starter
#6
12th August 2009
Old 12th August 2009
  #6
Lives for gear
 
Ol' Betsey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 2,360

Thread Starter
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncajesse View Post
You seriously don't know ANYONE with Windows that would do this for you?
j
I know. Crazy, huh? But I honestly don't know a single person that uses a PC.

Luckily someone at the promotion company has done this before so he's gonna take care of it.

I'll mention WMA v10 as a format though. Thanks for that.

R.
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
chariman6 / Work In Progress / Advice Requested / Show & Tell / Artist Showcase / Mix-Offs
1
jucifer / Music Computers
7
rhumphries / Post Production forum!
5
C_F_H_13 / Music Computers
3
TEMAS / Music Computers
4

Forum Jump
 
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.