How long do you let tube gear warm up before using it?
Waltz Mastering
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#1
16th January 2009
Old 16th January 2009
  #1
Lives for gear
 
Waltz Mastering's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: 3rd Stone From The Sun
Posts: 3,301

Thread Starter
Verified Member
How long do you let tube gear warm up before using it?

How long do you let "tube gear" warm up before using it?

1 hour ?
1/2 hour ?
Leave it on ?
Doesn't Matter ?

Just Curious....
Riccardo
Verified Member
#2
16th January 2009
Old 16th January 2009
  #2
Mastering Moderator
 
Riccardo's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Always on the Run
Posts: 3,244

Verified Member
At least one hour. Yes I do switch them off at the end of the day.
Cellotron
Verified Member
#3
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #3
Lives for gear
 
Cellotron's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 3,908

Verified Member
Generally I like to turn on the one piece of tube gear used here (a Pendulum OCL-2) an hour prior to the session - although on a couple occasions I've used it without any noticeable difference in the results after around only 15 minutes after turning it on.

fwiw - All my gear gets turned off when I'm not using it.

Best regards,
Steve Berson
#4
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #4
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 500

I'd really be surprised if the tubes get any warmer after 10 minutes of being on.
bgrotto
Verified Member
#5
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #5
Lives for gear
 
bgrotto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Slum-a-ville, Mass
Posts: 7,521
My Recordings/Credits

Verified Member
I turn the stuff on as I'm setting up; usually end up getting signal through it in a half-hour to an hour. If I'm just starting a mix and plug signal through cold tubes, I notice a gradual change in sound for about forty minutes or so, sometimes longer with certain pieces. Oddly enough, I actually prefer the sound of certain "cold" tube pieces every now and then.

I also notice a change in sound quality as my clock and/or convertors "warm up"...particularly with my mixdown A/D (an Apogee Rosetta).
MASSIVE Master
Verified Member
#6
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #6
Lives for gear
 
MASSIVE Master's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago (Schaumburg / Hoffman Est.) IL

Verified Member
I let everything (tube, solid state, amps, compressors, EQ's, converters, I don't care what) warm up for around 15 minutes before I start moving signal.
Greg Reierson
Verified Member
#7
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #7
Lives for gear
 
Greg Reierson's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,755

Verified Member
My Requisite L2M seems to want about an hour to stabilize. That's about how long it takes between when I turn it on in the morning and when I want to start capturing sound through it.


GR
Lagerfeldt
Verified Member
#8
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #8
Audio Alchemist
 
Lagerfeldt's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 5,182

Verified Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenchijin2 View Post
I'd really be surprised if the tubes get any warmer after 10 minutes of being on.
The sound will change in a period of up to 30 minutes in my G14. So 10 minutes is way too short.

You can hear and measure the gain level change until it stabilizes at around 30 minutes.
#9
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #9
Gear addict
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 303

30 mn for me
24-96 Mastering
Verified Member
#10
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #10
Lives for gear
 
24-96 Mastering's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Posts: 2,838

Verified Member
30 mins or more
#11
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #11
Lives for gear
 
Silvertone's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 2,535

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Reierson View Post
My Requisite L2M seems to want about an hour to stabilize. That's about how long it takes between when I turn it on in the morning and when I want to start capturing sound through it.


GR
Yep and even then she'll drift a little bit depending on where she is placed in the console or racks. I found moving it out of my console and putting it into my rack with nothing above it or below it (by at least one rack space) keeps her the most stable... but the tweaker is never too far just in case!
#12
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #12
Mastering
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,099

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waltz Mastering View Post
How long do you let "tube gear" warm up before using it?

1 hour ?
1/2 hour ?
Leave it on ?
Doesn't Matter ?

Just Curious....
5 minutes, but it continues to warm up for a couple of hours while I'm working on the sound, because I work on several songs before committing anything to a new master file. If I'm doing a single, it's probably an hour before I cut a new file, so the tubes have been warming up for an hour (while they're being used). The changes in sound after 5 to 15 minutes are so subtle you can still get to work on your sound.
#13
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #13
Gear addict
 
K. Evan Hodge IV's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 445

for the most part i wait 20 - 30 minutes before passing signal through it. (that includes converters) i feel it is usually pretty locked in at that point, with only subtle changes from then on. i'm generally not printing anything within the first hour anyways.

some of the older pultecs i used to use, the owner would make me wait an hour before using them. gentle up front, then i would abuse them


k
#14
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #14
Gear interested
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 22

About 20-30 minutes here, like someone in another thread suggested, I use my lava lamp to help me remember when I started...when it's warmed up, so are my tubes! thumbsup

Mike Bruce
Auricle Audio Mastering
Auricle Audio Mastering | Home
myspace.com/auricleaudiomastering
Alécio Costa
Verified Member
#15
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #15
Lives for gear
 
Alécio Costa's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Brazil, Florianópolis/SC
Posts: 1,979

Verified Member
10 to 30 minutes.
Waltz Mastering
Thread Starter
Verified Member
#16
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #16
Lives for gear
 
Waltz Mastering's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: 3rd Stone From The Sun
Posts: 3,301

Thread Starter
Verified Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Bruce View Post
I use my lava lamp to help me remember when I started...when it's warmed up, so are my tubes! thumbsup
Classic...
#17
17th January 2009
Old 17th January 2009
  #17
Lives for gear
 
mdjice's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Houston/Paris
Posts: 2,679

20 to 30 mn and about 12h and a half for my class A toobes
#18
18th January 2009
Old 18th January 2009
  #18
Gear addict
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: austria
Posts: 434

i turn it on and start to work but it takes some time till hitting the record button..
dcollins
Verified Member
#19
19th January 2009
Old 19th January 2009
  #19
Lives for gear
 
dcollins's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Hollywood CA
Posts: 3,215

Verified Member
A half hour at the minimum, but I leave everything on all the time.

DC
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
RockNote / Low End Theory
21
Johnkenn / So much gear, so little time!
52
elan / Low End Theory
48
Unknown soldier / So much gear, so little time!
5

Forum Jump
 
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.