is it worth the extra $$ mixing
mullet
2nd December 2008
Old 2nd December 2008
Lives for gear

is it worth the extra $$ mixing

I have a guy who does mastering.. I have two options: 1) mixing and mastering for $200 or 2) just mastering for $100.

I'm wondering if the extra $100 is worth it. Will there be a significant gain in sound quality to go with option 1?

I'm not an expert, but I've done my own compression, eq'ing, and panning on each of the parts, and I think it sounds pretty sweet.. its just not very loud..
2nd December 2008
Old 2nd December 2008
Lives for gear

so the same guy is going to mix it and master it?

i'd let a mixing engineer mix it. and a mastering engineer master it.

a good mix can make or break your record. from the description of what you have done you sound kind of unsure. can you post some audio of your mix?
MASSIVE Master
Verified Member
2nd December 2008
Old 2nd December 2008
Lives for gear

Verified Member
+1 on not having the same guy do it... Although I'm more concerned with the $100 mixes... But I can't imagine why someone who would charge $100 for (assuming) 5 or 6 hours of work would charge another $100 for another 15 minutes...

Unless he's sending them out as part of a "package" or something...
2nd December 2008
Old 2nd December 2008
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by MASSIVE Master View Post
+1 on not having the same guy do it... Although I'm more concerned with the $100 mixes... But I can't imagine why someone who would charge $100 for (assuming) 5 or 6 hours of work would charge another $100 for another 15 minutes...

Unless he's sending them out as part of a "package" or something...
$100 mastering job may in fact be a 5-6 hour endeavor if he is forced to creatively fix a poor mix...

maybe the ME is figuring on a quicker (re:15min) $100 mastering job being completed if he does the pre-mastering work (i.e. mixing it too for an extra $100)... just a thought...