![]() | All Advertisers |
| | #1 |
| Gear nut Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 97
Thread Starter | Scam or not??
Hello all I'm aware there was another thread similar to this recently but I just need a couple of opinions on whether it's worth replying to an email that could bring possible work or equally, a big headache. I'm willing to receive work from any country, I'm not fussy. However, having received innumerable 'I'm a Nigerian princess and I need $40k of your hard earned money so I can escape the dreadful tyranny of this regime and all the awful suitors that daddy keeps setting on me...' emails, I am a little skeptical of anything coming from Nigeria due to the possibility of being scammed. I'd feel a little judgemental if I don't reply to the guy incase it leads to a million further emails that never lead anywhere (kind of like some threads involving certain slutz...). But not having done any work to my knowledge for Nigerian clients in the past, I'm going to give him the benefit of the doubt and get back to him, but as he seems fairly unclear on the whole process I'm not holding my breath. Has anyone had similar experiences where emails seem reasonably innocent but end up being more trouble than they're worth? Any thoughts would be much appreciated. Cheers! |
| | |
| | #2 |
| Gear nut Joined: May 2006 Location: Oxford, Mississippi
Posts: 88
|
99.99999% chance it's a scam. I used to get these weekly. I play along with these maggots. Make them spend some money on shipping and re-shipping bogus checks. String 'em along at their own game. Better yet, post their email address on this forum.
__________________ Jeffrey Reed Taproot Audio Design Oxford, Mississippi www.taprootaudiodesign.com www.myspace.com/taprootaudio "Mr. Engineer, faders up!"- John Wayne, Texas Funeral |
| | |
| | #3 |
| Lives for gear |
NIGERIA = scam
|
| | |
| | #4 |
| Gear nut Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 97
Thread Starter |
The trouble is he seems to have looked at my website as he's mentioned a few things off there - doesn't guarantee it's not a scam but it's not in my nature to immediately turn work away : )
|
| | |
| | #5 |
| Lives for gear Joined: May 2008 Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 937
|
maybe just tell him what your hesitation is: lots of scams from nigeria, also in your field. nothing personal, but just how it is. ask him to pay (half of the amount) up front?
|
| | |
| | #6 |
| Gear Guru |
As soon as they mention paying for translators, shipping companies or anything that involves you taking a cheque and passing money on - it's a scam. Ditto with when they ask to book 2 weeks or something ridiculous like that. If you do want to persist, take paypal in advance, take the money out of your paypal account before sending out any masters.
__________________ Shameless Plug: If I've ever helped you with a technical problem or provided you with advice you found useful, you can more than repay me by going here and spending 79p of your hard earned on this single, now available for purchase, by a singer I'm working closely with. It would be much appreciated! http://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/fam...14?i=496923918 Album now available for pre-order: http://itunes.apple.com/gb/preorder/...an/id513648911 /Shameless Plug.... |
| | |
| | #7 | |
| Lives for gear Joined: May 2008 Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Posts: 2,747
Verified Member | Quote:
If in doubt, I'd play their game and say that payment is only possible through western union cash payout. | |
| | |
| | #8 |
| Gear maniac Joined: May 2008 Location: Roma - Italy
Posts: 188
| |
| | |
| | #9 |
| Gear nut Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 97
Thread Starter | Scam or not? NOT!
Hi guys Cheers for the responses. After careful consideration I decided to give this guy the benefit of the doubt, I'm pretty sure he was my first prospective client from Nigeria. Deciding to pursue his enquiry has lead to a lot of emails, some of them not really making any sense, but eventually we got somewhere, and despite his opening gambit of 'we have big problems with credit cards here in Nigeria' he made a bank transfer and sent me his file. I mastered it, he was very happy and all being well I'm going to get more work out of it. It's taught me a couple of things: - I should be wary but not judgemental of work coming from less developed countries - I shouldn't assume the whole job is going to go wrong just because the guy is Nigerian - there are obviously serious musicians in that country as much as any other place, and the mix was pretty good. Any the guy is very polite. - Replying to emails never hurts - even if most look like scams - you can still have a little fun with those - and sometimes you'll get paid at the end! Has anyone else had any similar experience when an email that looks like a possible scam turns out to be a perfectly normal job? |
| | |
| | #10 | |
| Gear addict Joined: May 2005
Posts: 497
Verified Member | Quote:
As an FYI, PayPal has initiated a "pending" status that WILL NOT allow you to withdraw your funds until certain criteria are met. You might have a pending balance of $2000, but can't get a penny of it. Seriously--look into it. You have little power in this situation.
__________________ Cass Anawaty, Chief Engineer Sunbreak Music, LLC High Resolution Stereo Mastering www.sunbreakmusic.com | |
| | |
| | #11 | |
| Lives for gear | Quote:
__________________ -TOM- Thomas W. Bethel Managing Director Acoustik Musik, Ltd. Room with a View Productions Oberlin, OH 44074 www.acoustikmusik.com Doing what you love is freedom. Loving what you do is happiness. | |
| | |
| | #12 | |
| Gear addict Joined: May 2005
Posts: 497
Verified Member | Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #13 |
| Gear addict Joined: Dec 2006 Location: Ayr, Scotland
Posts: 427
|
You cant go wrong with the UK. :D But Nigeria Im not too sure of!! Eck |
| | |
| | #14 | |
| Lives for gear Joined: May 2008 Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Posts: 2,747
Verified Member | Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #15 |
| Gear addict Joined: Jan 2007 Location: Vienna
Posts: 484
|
I've heard about a scam where they book 2 weeks of your studio - pay everything in advance via credit card or check, including flights (which you are supposed to book for some reason) but they never show up and somehow manage to get their money back - I believe this is only possible with European consumer laws. This way they get free flights... Another version includes paying the musicians and their hotels as well. This one I find a little hard to believe though. |
| | |
| | #16 | |
| Lives for gear | Quote:
The way most of these scams are run is that they want to pay you up front for services rendered but they want to include additional monies for some other activity and have you send your check minus your fees to a PO box usually in New York or New Jersey and of course their check bounces and so you would be out the whole amount. They other scam is that they want you to "write a letter to an an official in their country" telling them that you are going to be doing some work together so they can get a entry visa from the US government . The scam here is that they want the entry visa and you will probably never see them once they hit the US. Some of these scams come from Africa, some from England and I got one from Holland but they are all the same scam. What looks to good to be true usually is. | |
| | |
New Reply
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Scam? | dach | The Moan Zone | 6 | 26th March 2007 01:01 PM |
| is this a scam??? | jorstua | So much gear, so little time! | 5 | 6th October 2006 12:22 PM |
| |