Login / Register
 
Need a good AMP to power my DynAudio BM12's
New Reply
Subscribe
DHMcC
Thread Starter
#1
20th September 2008
Old 20th September 2008
  #1
Gear nut
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 92

Thread Starter
DHMcC is offline
Need a good AMP to power my DynAudio BM12's

Any ideas?

I already have a Alesis RA300 but I plan on running my B&W's through that and then running the dyn's through the better, more expensive amp you kind people are about to suggest.

No real budget as such.. But obviously as cheap as poss
__________________
DANIELONLINE
MASSIVE Master
Verified Member
#2
21st September 2008
Old 21st September 2008
  #2
Lives for gear
 
MASSIVE Master's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago (Schaumburg / Hoffman Est.) IL
Posts: 3,044
My Recordings/Credits

Verified Member
Send a message via AIM to MASSIVE Master
MASSIVE Master is offline
I'd look at used Brystons (3B and up) and new or used Rotel high-current models (1070? 1080? I'm pretty sure on those model numbers).

Not too pricey, great bang for the bank.
__________________
John Scrip - Massive Mastering, LLC - www.massivemastering.com

Spoon-feed a newb some answer and he'll mix for a day -
Get him to *think* about it and figure it out for himself and he'll mix for a lifetime --- JS
DHMcC
Thread Starter
#3
21st September 2008
Old 21st September 2008
  #3
MASSIVE Master
Verified Member
#4
21st September 2008
Old 21st September 2008
  #4
Lives for gear
 
MASSIVE Master's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago (Schaumburg / Hoffman Est.) IL
Posts: 3,044
My Recordings/Credits

Verified Member
Send a message via AIM to MASSIVE Master
MASSIVE Master is offline
DSD_Mastering
Verified Member
#5
21st September 2008
Old 21st September 2008
  #5
Lives for gear
 
DSD_Mastering's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,019

Verified Member
DSD_Mastering is offline
Yeah, the Rotel amps are good as well as used Bryston, Anthem, Adcom and such. Check on Audiogon.

Regards,
__________________
Bruce A. Brown
Puget Sound Studios
Seattle, Washington
#6
27th September 2008
Old 27th September 2008
  #6
Lives for gear
 
thermos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 4,459

thermos is offline
I have to big up Adcom. I have tried a bunch of different power amps with my Proacs, including a $1200 Audio Research amp and a custom built amp. The Adcom GFA 555 post mods (the caps it came with were severely band limited) sounds really great, WAAAAAY better than the Audio Research amp in terms of transient response and accuracy of high end. Stock Adcom amps won't cut it, but once you get the right values in there, they are amazing for the $.
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
farjedi / High end
34

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.