Login / Register

Adobe Audition Vs Pro Tools
New Reply
Subscribe
jeff_way@yahoo.
29th September 2006
Old 29th September 2006
Gear Head

Send a message via Yahoo to jeff_way@yahoo.
Adobe Audition Vs Pro Tools

I've used both of these and am quite fluent on each. I have to say, I find myself preferring Audition somewhat. I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts.
29th September 2006
Old 29th September 2006
Lives for gear

Send a message via AIM to NesNeedsGear
cool.

but get used to pro tools, especially if u plan on working for hire (mixing, tracking). PT allows for easier transfer of sessions/data, plus it's the "cool" daw to have. the words "i use pro tools" goes a long way.

The only DAW i prefer over PT is Nuendo or Logic.
29th September 2006
Old 29th September 2006
Lives for gear

I'm a bit of an expert on Audition myself. It's no protools replacement, but it's an awesome protools compliment. The spectral editing(y axis is frequency) is unmatched anywhere.

It's an AMAZING mixdown recording program as well. Route your 2bus output to Audition input. You can then aid your mixing by soloing instruments and seeing exactly where their frequency components are. Solo your kick and bass to visually see where you might have some masking occuring.

There's also a pan and phase view where the Yaxis is pan or phase. This is a great view for sorting out some problems.

The multitrack is great for doing something quick, but the feature set isn't as complete as the other standard DAWS. That said, I like it better than wavelab and sound forge as an editor, so a free multitrack environment is added value over those apps.

I've dedicated a laptop as my 2bus recorder. In fact, Audition is one of the few reasons I even have a PC anymore. In the last year I've moved towards the MAC platform. I used to have 4 PCs, now I have 3 MACS and 1 PC. THe PC is relegated to Audition and file storage
29th September 2006
Old 29th September 2006
Lives for gear