Mic that cuts through dense mixes!?
New Reply
Subscribe
PhoenixMusic
19th August 2013
Old 19th August 2013
Gear interested

Mic that cuts through dense mixes!?

im pretty new to recording but ive been making electronic music for a while and i need a mic that can cut through the dense and big sounding songs ! i need a vocal that is upfront and big sounding !

The gear that i have is....

Mic - Blue Bluebird (doesnt seem to cut through ... kinda sits in the back) Also The SSSSS sounds are very harsh :/
Pre - Scarlett 2i2

- If anyone can help me please reply thanks !
19th August 2013
Old 19th August 2013
Lives for gear

Michael Joly ( oktavamod.com )
19th August 2013
Old 19th August 2013
Lives for gear

What's your budget? For a low budget, a Blue Spark may be worth trying. I've used mine a fair amount of times. Seems to cut through quite nicely without extreme EQ.
PhoenixMusic
19th August 2013
Old 19th August 2013
Gear interested

Budget is around 300 ! i was thinking about getting a sm7b
19th August 2013
Old 19th August 2013
Lives for gear

Kel HM7u if you can find one used.

Cheers!
-Mike
PhoenixMusic
19th August 2013
Old 19th August 2013
Gear interested

Dam... when i was first shopping for a mic i was told about that mic at the time it came with another free mic :/ i think it was around 399 for both
PhoenixMusic
20th August 2013
Old 20th August 2013
Gear interested

my singer also has a softer-ish voice so...
20th August 2013
Old 20th August 2013
Gear interested

If you're working with the 2i2 I would not recommend the SM7b...especially if you're dealing with a vocalist who sings on the softer end...that's a gain hungry mic! If you can pony up another $100 for a Fethead then you're golden.