Login / Register

Re-amping with a active DI-box possible?
New Reply
Subscribe
zinzin
26th March 2013
Old 26th March 2013
Lives for gear

Re-amping with a active DI-box possible?

i was told it could be possible if i'd reverse the DI box. i tried it but didn't work. i only heard stuttering sounds or very noisy sound. so ... is it possible and what did i wrong?
i have the samson s.direct plus active DI box.

EP "THE FABULOUS EXPLODING LOVERS"
https://tfel.bandcamp.com/

"LIQUID GAS" PSYCHADELIA
http://liquidgas.bandcamp.com/album/the-sky
26th March 2013
Old 26th March 2013
Gear maniac

Im certainly no expert in reamping, but i have been working in electronics for 25 years .
I just recently looked into it myself, but i know you cant use an active DI in reverse since it contains active electronic components like opamps/transistors which cant be run in reverse, a passive DI basically just uses a transformer which is a passive Component that can be run in reverse.

There also seems to be a discussion about how well it works with a passive DI compared to a real reamp box, i havent tried any of them yet at least.
26th March 2013
Old 26th March 2013
Gear maniac

Personally after alot of research im thinking of getting the Palmer DACCAPO since it seems like a fairly affordable and well liked box, you will need to use a DI box for the input though to split the direct signal from the guitar that goes into the DAW input and the signal used for monitoring through a guitar amp etc.. but i guess you already have that.

http://www.thomann.de/gb/palmer_reamping_boxdaccapo.htm
zinzin
26th March 2013
Old 26th March 2013
Lives for gear

Thanks
27th March 2013
Old 27th March 2013
Lives for gear

Active DI...not possible. Passive DI...possible, though not optimal.

My opinion, reamping is not worth doing AT ALL unless you have the correct equipment, and even then I rarely want to do it.
27th March 2013
Old 27th March 2013
Lives for gear

I got one of these: