"A-B" monitor setup... Help please!
New Reply
Subscribe
kjdrapeau
16th January 2013
Old 16th January 2013
Gear interested

"A-B" monitor setup... Help please!

So after having my mixes sound nice, lush and full of clarity at home, then proceeding to playing them at my friends studios only to find them bland and flat I've come to the realization I need to upgrade my setup! He is running yamaha hs80s.

I realize a lot to do with the sound is in the acoustical treatment of the rooms... I have some basic bass traps so for now I am only concerned with finding accurate and honest monitors to add to my setup.

I have a set of mackie mr5 mkII monitors now (I was a noob when I bought them, should have done more research)... they sound great for pleasure but are obviously colored and not nice for mixing. I figure it would at least be beneficial to keep them as a "B-set" to reference final mixes and/or just use for listening pleasure... is this common practice?

I have read so many different opinions on what the "best" budget monitor for flat, accurate and honest mixing are... I had it narrowed down to either the Adam AXs, Neumann KH 120, or picking up the same yamaha HS80s like they use at my friends studio. But after some research I've read good things about ATC SCM7s, which can be picked up for ~300 second hand, combined with a decent used or DIY amp.

Anyone have experience with these different monitors? any help with choosing between this monitors would be greatly appreciated thanks!!!
16th January 2013
Old 16th January 2013
Lives for gear

Do you reference other music when you are mixing?

If you don't know exactly what other music sounds like on your system, you are mixing in a vacuum with no reference to know what it should sound like. And our auditory memory is extremely short, so you must reference frequently while mixing to stay on the right track!
16th January 2013
Old 16th January 2013
Gear Head