Newbie feeling out of his depth...
Old 9th December 2012
Gear interested

Newbie feeling out of his depth...

Hi folks. I'm a complete newbie to gearslutz so I hope this is going into the right sub-forum. Apologies if it's not.
I'm a home DJ and have recently started recording my mixes through my software. I got lent a set of HS80's to monitor my mixes with and found that when I played them back they sounded much better than those monitored with normal hi-fi speakers.
I've decided to buy some monitor speakers myself and on my limited budget I've narrowed the choice down to 3. The Fostex pm0.5n, KRK Rokit RP6 G2 or the Behringer Truth 3031A. I play trance, psy-trance and tech-house which is bottom end heavy but also has some delicate piano and synth breakdowns at times. The room that they will be used in is a fairly small sized room and not accoustically treated yet so I think that I will benefit from front porting, hence the choice of 3 that I have narrowed it down to. Thank you in advance for any advice offered.
Old 9th December 2012
Lives for gear

If the HS80's sounded good in your room, save up for them.

Significant step up from the monitors you listed.
Old 9th December 2012
Gear interested

Thanks Kaoz. I found that because the Yamaha's are rear ported and close to the wall in an untreated room there was no bass then huge amounts of bass, as though some of it was being absorbed then loads bounced back, that's why I was looking at front ported speakers. Unfortunately because I have to work in the dining room acoustically treating the room isn't an option.
Old 9th December 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigrichc View Post