Beginner, suggest me a cheap guitar & a guitar tuner
Old 3rd December 2012
Lives for gear

Beginner, suggest me a cheap guitar & a guitar tuner

Hi I am looking into buying my first guitar for learning, any sugestions for the cheapest range ? Also is a Korg GA good for guitar tuning ? also what other cheap device is good for guitar tuning ? I am very new to this so please teach, thanks.
I just bought a magazine, Total Guitar presents Teach Yourself Guitar (full dvd & magazine).
Old 3rd December 2012
Lives for gear

Inexpensive and something great to learn on with some decent tone?

...the Washburn D10.

Find a place that sells them and play them all, even the ones that might be hiding in the store room. You'll find at least one out of them that's a peach.
Old 3rd December 2012
Lives for gear

But how am I supposed to know if it's peached ?
Old 3rd December 2012
Gear interested

I've had the Korg GA tuner for over 10 years. I've had to replace the batteries three times. But it's survived a lot. Get it
Old 3rd December 2012
Gear interested

The Epiphone Masterbilt series are great acoustic guitars for a very reasonable price.
Old 3rd December 2012
Gear addict

For a beginner I'd suggest something along the lines of SX guitars. You'd need to try them out but from what I've seen some SX guitars offer excellent value for money.

As for a tuner, it's expensive but the Boss TU-2 is top notch. Buy that and you should never need another tuner again. It's chromatic so it has more applications than just guitar tuning.
Old 4th December 2012
Taking Down your Network

Hit up a friend who's a good player and bring them along.
Like the other poster said, try all the guitars in your price range and under.