Best Oktava MC 012 mod?
New Reply
Subscribe
College_Records
24th August 2012
Old 24th August 2012
Gear Head

Best Oktava MC 012 mod?

I'm interested in modifying a stereo pair of Oktava MC 012 microphones. I am aware of several modifications that you can do this microphone: the Bill Sitler modification, the Scott Dorsey modification, and the Michael Jolly modifications...

My question is, which modification is the best? I know that it's up to people's opinions, but being a college student I would really hate to send my microphones to Michael Jolly for a whopping $240 if I could do a similar (if not better) Bill Sitler mod for $50 at home.

Do any fellow slutz have experience with these modifications and have opinions on which one would best fit my limited college student budget?
24th August 2012
Old 24th August 2012
Lives for gear

Sitler did a great job on a pair of mine, and a 319. All sound great.
"Factory farming" is the worst and most horrible abuse of Animals on a massive scale ever devised by greedy humans. Please do what you can to help end it, and "laboratory testing" also. No living being should have to suffer like this. Thank you.
http://www.soundclick.com/edbilleaud
24th August 2012
Old 24th August 2012
Lives for gear

I didn't realize MJ had increased his price by almost $30 per mic. Seems excessive to me - and I'm a big fan of the PE mod myself.

The one 012 I've had him mod was spec'ing much lower than it's paired partner and the MJ mod corrected it and noticeably smoothed out response and performance. However, my non-modified 012 is a fantastic mic and doesn't warrant paying for a mod IMO.

For $240, if you're relatively happy with your 012's I'd think about buying an ADK or similar quality LDC to complement your 012's in stereo configs where you need a smooth balance of lows and high's (i.e., AC guitar).
College_Records
25th August 2012
Old 25th August 2012
Gear Head