Sunn Ra
12th May 2012
Old 12th May 2012
Gear Head

Punk Rawk Guitar

Heya. I'm recording a bit of a genre-project (strictly in regards to sound -- I need a "classic" tone here) and need some tips on establishing that crunchy- yet-aurally-satisfying kinda guitar texture that the particular brand of Stiff Little Fingers, 'Pistols, etc. punk tended to harbor (Note: I'm talking from the engineer's side of the glass). Any tips would be greatly appreciated, from the most rudimentary to the most esoteric (and again, more "Damned" than "Husker Du"). Thanks in advance!
12th May 2012
Old 12th May 2012
Lives for gear

I'm not an expert, but I'd say a 57 right on the grill of an older Vox or Marshall turned up to a pretty raunchy overdrive would get you most of the way there. Cut some lows in the mix to leave room for bass and kick, and double or triple track. The main difference between a 'punk' tone and a 'rock' or 'metal tone' is a lot in the gear- an older Fender or Gibson (with P90's), into an older, maxed out, ragged sounding amp is pretty much 'the' punk tone.
12th May 2012
Old 12th May 2012
Lives for gear

pick scrapes, palm mutes, feedback and pogo stick jumping up and down ....also safety pin piercings aren't required but help sell the sizzle
12th May 2012
Old 12th May 2012
Gear maniac

Put about 50 bees in a coffee can, close the lid, shake them up and then open and shove a 57 in there ;D
12th May 2012
Old 12th May 2012
Gear maniac

If you're going for 70s type punk guitar tones, I'd probably stay away from much double tracking. Keep it raw and simple. I would also try to get the guitarist keep the overdrive just over edge of breakup. Cranked Plexi-like.
12th May 2012
Old 12th May 2012
Gear maniac

Get a stratocaster (single coils) or something with low output humbuckers, and something with tubes, preferably low wattage around 30-50 watts to get more saturation at manageable volumes. Crank the volume and turn down the distortion, and hit the strings HARD.