New Reply
Subscribe
cooney
7th April 2012
Old 7th April 2012
Gear nut

MCA SP-1 Mod Procedure

I have a MCA Sp-1 in the mail and am attempting my first microphone mod ever. I
am trying it on this one because from what I have gather this seems to be one of
the cheapest, and most beneficial mics to mod/learn circuits on. I will be doing
this mod along side my construction technology teacher who has a background with
robotics and soldering. I have acquired more than enough caps, resistors, diodes
ect. to do the mod and am just on the final stages of what to actually do. Below
is the general outline of what I was planning on doing, any input of what is
correct/incorrect is appreciated. Again this is my first time!

1) Replace 0.022uF caps. with Mylar, or 1uF Mylar to increase the bass response

*possibly remove D1/D2 and C1/C2

2) Replace the 2sk170 fet with a fast j305
- replace the output transistors with bc559cs
- change the 1k resistor with new ones
- change 240k/270k to 330k/680k resistors
- remove one of the 1k resistors and 1nF cermaics

3) Replace the 2 1n4148 diodes with UF4001's

4) Replace the 6.2v zener diode with either a 7.5v or 8.2v zener diode
- check DC converter voltage at the UF4001's and try to achieve ~60vs

5) Replace the capsule wiht a rk47

6) Remove one layer of inner mesh from the headbasket
7th April 2012
Old 7th April 2012
Taking Down your Network

This is a well known mod; I'm in the process of finishing out my own SP-1 with an RK47 capsule and some new capacitors.

You'll be so excited when you gut this mic and see how easy it is to work on!

Hopefully one of the local mod kings, Jim Williams, will chime in. He helped me out with my SP-1 mod. At his suggestion, I'm also adding a switch to my K47 capsule that will toggle it into omni mode. So sweet. I got the capsule here:

RK-47 Microphone Capsule | K47 | Microphone Parts