Talk me down from the ledge... BR-800 vs BR-600
alphasports
7th March 2012
Old 7th March 2012
Gear interested

Talk me down from the ledge... BR-800 vs BR-600

Hi,

I'm a casual basement recording artist (guitar & vocals), do it more for fun & gadget addiction than anything else. I have some decent gear in terms of mixing boards & mics, USB interfaces (for Reaper, when I'm not recording direct to my BR-600), and other odds & ends. I currently use a BR-600 for standalone multitracking but am gassing for a BR-800 mostly due to its interface capability, increased SD capacity etc.

I certainly don't NEED it, but...you know how it is

Anyway on the bright side I WILL listen to reason if anyone can convince me there's no real advantage other than the few updated features listed above, none of which are essential.

BTW I always do obsessive homework before fixating on some new gadget, so I have looked at, and discarded, the Zoom R-series, Tascam, etc. It's come down to the BR-800 or nothing.

Talk to me, goose!
7th March 2012
Old 7th March 2012
Lives for gear

seriously? It is a lateral move. save the cash, or spend it on something that gets you into the world of editing on a full-sized computer screen in color, where you can control and change the quality of your pieces/parts (mic pres, converters, plug in effects, primary DAW) at will. You start to edit audio on a full sized screen. you'll wonder how you ever got anything done on that little LCD.
7th March 2012
Old 7th March 2012
Lives for gear

Im a hardware guy so I'm not going to talk u out of utbut...with that said, I would would look for the weakest link in my set up and start there. Pres, moniters, comps. cables, something. If u think you're good then go for it but first make sure you've addressed whatever needs to be addressed.
alphasports
7th March 2012
Old 7th March 2012
Gear interested

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill@WelcomeHome View Post