My First Electric Guitar (suggestions?)
New Reply
Subscribe
TYPHY
19th January 2012
Old 19th January 2012
Gear is over-rated

My First Electric Guitar (suggestions?)

Ok, I have very little knowledge when it comes to guitars. I was given an acoustic guitar a few weeks ago and have been trying to learn how to play. I have Guitar Rig 4 and have never used it much. I'm wanting to buy an electric guitar, a decent one that I can grow with. I don't think I will be buying cabinets and amps for it. I'm probably just gonna stick to using GR4 with the guitar plugged directly into my preamp > interface. I've done searches on what's the best starter electric guitar and this one has come up several times:

GuitarCenter

The style of music I like to make is R&B and HipHop. Here are some examples of guitar sounds I am after.

My budget is no more than $400.

Any other suggestions for a guitar noob?
19th January 2012
Old 19th January 2012
Lives for gear

Squire makes some good guitars for the money. But so do lots of companies. Really, when it comes to entry level guitars your biggest issue is going to be quality control. Two "identical" guitars of the same brand, same model, that were made at the same place on the same day can be drastically different. One could sound great and play great, and the other could be barely playable. So your best bet would be to find someone who knows guitars really well and bring them with you to some stores and find ones you like, and check with them to make sure it's a good one. They'll want to check for things like action, intonation, and tone. These things can be hard to discern without lots of experience.

If that's not an option for you, then like I said, Squire makes some good guitars. If you buy one sight unseen, you might get a gem, you might get a dud, but it should at least work.
19th January 2012
Old 19th January 2012
Lives for gear

Send a message via MSN to dkelley