Login / Register

Mix sounds muddy on m audio 2496, should I go for a better audio interface?
New Reply
Subscribe
jithendra
18th January 2012
Old 18th January 2012
Gear interested

Mix sounds muddy on m audio 2496, should I go for a better audio interface?

Hi friends I have been mixing with m audio 2496 for 2 years now. My Mix always sounds muddy when heard on other speakers. Should I be changing my Audio Interface. Recently I got Yamaha HS 50M Monitors. I don't need many inputs and outputs. I will mostly only be mixing on these. Here are my specs

Audiophile 2496

Yamaha HS50M Monitors

Behringer Xenyx 502 mixer

pl help me because when I go to a shop they say higher the cost the better the sound I will get, which I don't think is completely true.

Thanks for reading and helping
18th January 2012
Old 18th January 2012
Gear addict

jithendra
18th January 2012
Old 18th January 2012
Gear interested

Thanks

18th January 2012
Old 18th January 2012
Gear addict

I'm no accoustician. Unfortunately, every room is unique and have different accoustic properties. Some general things to try out for mixing room accoustics are;

1) Finding the right place for your monitors and the listening sweet spot (the "38% rule" is a good starting point).

2) Minimising direct reflections (ceiling and wall to wall). Sit in your sweetspot and have a friend run a mirror across the walls and ceiling. Anywhere where you can see the reflection of your monitors in the mirror should be treated with absorptive material.

3) Bass trapping. Most people agree that it is wise to get as much bass trapping as possible, especially in small rooms. This usually means treating EVERY corner surface of your room; wall to wall and ceiling to wall. It is a lot less expensive to build your bass traps from scratch, but it is quite a bit of work. Just get as many of them as possible, and make them at least 4 inches (10cm) thick.