DBX 586 vs ART MPA Gold
Chief Pronto
11th September 2011
Old 11th September 2011
Gear interested

DBX 586 vs ART MPA Gold

Hey all, I've been running an ART MPA Gold dual channel tube pre for a few years with absolutely no gripes about it. But just for a change, I decided I'd give something else a try. I've stumbled upon a DBX 586 dual channel tube pre for $200 and have been playing around with it. It seems that the DBX has a greater range - the cleaner signals seem cleaner than the MPA Gold at it's cleanest setting, and the driven signals seem dirtier than the MPA Gold at it's most driven setting. The limiter on the DBX actually sounds pretty good. I couldn't hear it working even though I saw the LED flickering... so that's what I mean by "sounds" pretty good. The EQ was pretty good I guess.. I'm not sure. It did what I thought it would do - I turned up the highs and it got brighter, turn them down and it got duller... I'm not sure what else I should be looking for.

All in all I think the DBX has a wider range of different sounds, but I think the MPA Gold sounded overall a bit sweeter. Anyone have similar thoughts?

There's A LOT of bad stuff written about the DBX 586, and there's actually A LOT of good stuff written about the ART MPA Gold. Now, is that because the DBX sounds "mediocre" for a high-end unit while the MPA Gold sounds GREAT for a low-end unit? Are people unimpressed with the DBX 586 because of the original $1700 price tag, but impressed with the MPA Gold because of the original $350 price tag? If price/value was not a consideration, and someone offered you either an ART MPA Gold or a DBX 586, which one would you take?

Which one sounds better regardless of the price? And after you've answered that.... Which one sounds better considering the price? Same answer?
Chief Pronto
11th September 2011
Old 11th September 2011
Gear interested

anyone?
11th September 2011
Old 11th September 2011