$400 to spend on a pair of monitors
New Reply
Subscribe
Tonal-Retentive
9th February 2006
Old 9th February 2006
Gear Head

$400 to spend on a pair of monitors

Ok, I have a friend that wants a little setup for his house. He wants to spend $400 on a pair of speakers. The ones that come to mind are KRK, Yorkville, maybe Wharfedale. Whats the popular choice around here? Any good places online to buy from?

p.s. He will do rock and probably a little r&b on them. I will probably use them too b/c we write together sometimes.
9th February 2006
Old 9th February 2006

KRK is pretty good for the money, I've no personal experience with the others you list.

DrMS. Focus on your stereo field. - NEW AAX Native 64 v4.0.1 OUT NOW!
DrMS spatial processor - native AAX64/RTAS/AU/VST plugin »

Product Support Engineer for
Joystick Audio - Benelux High End Distributor
http://www.joystick.be
9th February 2006
Old 9th February 2006
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonal-Retentive
Ok, I have a friend that wants a little setup for his house. He wants to spend $400 on a pair of speakers. The ones that come to mind are KRK, Yorkville, maybe Wharfedale. Whats the popular choice around here? Any good places online to buy from?

p.s. He will do rock and probably a little r&b on them. I will probably use them too b/c we write together sometimes.

For $400, the KRK Rockit range are great performers, the rp6 or rp8.

Also look at the Event TR6 / TR8.

Alesis M1 Mk2 Actives are great, and have a well balanced sound from low to high. I have a pair, and IMO the are not far off from much higher end models costing 3-4 times more.
9th February 2006
Old 9th February 2006
Lives for gear

KRK V6 (used) and M-audio BX8s are both great for the money. Don't discredit passive monitors - A pair of used KRK 6000's (which are some high quality monitors) recently sold on eBizzle for less than $200!
Tonal-Retentive
9th February 2006
Old 9th February 2006
Gear Head