Login / Register

GAP Pre 73 (or other mic pre) as Guitar DI?
New Reply
Subscribe
wsal
7th October 2010
Old 7th October 2010
Gear Head

GAP Pre 73 (or other mic pre) as Guitar DI?

Hey all, just thinking about a preamp purchase. At the moment I have a Presonus Bluetube, and a Tascam US 1641. I originally bought the Bluetube when I had an interface without phantom power, and needed to power condensor mics. Now that I've got the Tascam, I'm feeling the Bluetube doesn't really contribute anything - I did some A/B testing using all of my paired mics on a bunch of instruments, into the Bluetube and the Tascam, and to my ears (admittedly I'm no pro), there was no appreciable difference. Of course, switching on the 'tube' gain changed the sound, but only really to the extent that it added hiss, and dirtied the sound in a mostly unpleasant way.
So yeah, I guess a pre or 2 that have 'character' and 'colour' is what I'm after (if the tascam can be assumed to be clean and lacking character), but the catch is, it has to work as a guitar DI. And I don't mean a DI from the amp, I mean guitar direct in, for jazz sounds (a range of tones from crystal clean, to warmer/more 'coloured' would be a plus). Has anyone used the Pre73 in this context?
Other duties it MAY be called upon for would be: Drums/Cymbals/OH, Vocals, Bass DI, Keyboard DI, Guitar amps, Trumpet, Trombone, Sax, and providing ample gain (perhaps also switchable impedance?) for Ribbon mics.
Cheers
Will
7th October 2010
Old 7th October 2010
Gear addict

Comparing my Focusrite Saffire preamps to my GAP73 (modded by API (username here on GS)) I must say the GAP73 added something I really liked to my guitar DI. Hard to describe with words. I guess warmer is as good a word as any.
wsal
8th October 2010
Old 8th October 2010
Gear Head

Thanks for the response. Would you be able to provide any samples comparing the two? That'd be really handy!