New Reply
Subscribe
finch
5th September 2010
Old 5th September 2010
Gear interested

help me clean up my sound

hi,

I'm trying to record acoustic guitar. I have 2 rode nt5 mics hooked up into a focusrite saffire pro 24.

I've got both mics plugged in and have one mic situated infront of 12th fret (3 inches away) and the other pointing towards the bridge.

In sonar I'm recording to 1 audio track with the studio button pressed (no panning).

please listen to the clip and suggest how I can improve the sound cos right now it sounds terrible . How do I get a clear loud sound?

be kind I'm a total newbie just trying to get the ropes. thanks
Attached Files
File Type: mp3 RodeMicTest.mp3 (221.2 KB, 175 views)
5th September 2010
Old 5th September 2010
Lives for gear

Doesn't sound terrible. Actually I'd say that's a pretty good acoustic guitar sound. And it's certainly well enough recorded that it wouldn't need to go overboard EQing it.

But it's impossible to say any more without hearing a vocal, or whatever else is going to surround it. I see no point in mixing instruments in isolation.

I would say this though: I don't see much point recording two mics to one audio track. You may as well record to two: gives you more options in terms of panning and EQ and getting the sound thicker.
5th September 2010
Old 5th September 2010
Lives for gear

"How do I get a clear loud sound"

There are many factors that dictate the sonic quality of a recording. While I agree with binarymilton wiith his "doesn't sound terrible" comment, it doesn't sound all that great either.

What it sounds like to me, is there are two things that you are lacking - two things that you may not be able to do anything about. 1) room 2) mic pre