QSC vs. Yorkville Powered Speakers
daddygreene
7th April 2010
Old 7th April 2010
Gear interested

QSC vs. Yorkville Powered Speakers

Newbie here.

I'm looking to purchase a "powered" FOH speaker system for my son's band. I would like to know you guy's opinions on the Yorkville Unity series vs. the QSC K series. Which do you feel is a better system? I know Yorkville is more money but not significantly so I'm more interested in the best sound and performance. I'm looking for a system that will give them the most flexible sound choices for various venues. But the reason I'm going powered is for convenience and less cabling.

I'm looking to purchase 4 subs and 4 top speakers - 2 sets for each side. For smaller venues I will only use 1 set each side.

I'd like opinions also;
SUBS - 12", 15" or 18" (bigger is not always better in sound).
SUBS - dual or single speaker
TOPS - 10", 12" or 15"
TOPS - 2-Way or 3-Way

If there is another "powered" speaker system in that price range that is BETTER please let me know your preference and why you would pick this over the one's I've listed above.

Thanks for your time and expertise.
7th April 2010
Old 7th April 2010
Gear Guru

Hard to say, really. You are gonna have to go look at them and put them up and down.

Another system to look at is the Cerwin Vega Active series. I know those sound good - especially in reverberant halls. The tops are quite heavy, though.

-tINY

7th April 2010
Old 7th April 2010
Gear Head

I use a pair of Electro-Voice SxA 360s for my keyboard amplification and they sound absolutely incredible. That being said, I do know a lot of keyboard players have been upgrading from the EVs to QSC K12s.

I've heard the Yorkville passive speakers and they sound good. I'm looking at purchasing a few active mains and I'm primarily looking at the K12s.
7th April 2010
Old 7th April 2010
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddygreene View Post