New Reply
Subscribe
Terry McInturff
5th January 2009
Old 5th January 2009
Lives for gear

Name the absolute easiest-to-learn DAW

Im so 20th century, it's embarassing.

Im an old analog guy, I guess. Thats the world that I understand. I am FAR from a computer expert!

But it seems that Im finally going to enter the world of computer recording at last. I'll be incorporating my older, but dear to me, WR-DA7 digital desk.

I'll be running XP.

What is the easiest...EASIEST DAW to learn, from absolute scratch?

Many thanks!
tcmzodiac@yahoo.com
5th January 2009
Old 5th January 2009
Lives for gear

For me it was Pro Tools, but everyone's answer will vary.

Before I tried Pro Tools, I messed around with Cool Edit Pro and Cakewalk. Neither of them really was comfortable to work in. Cool Edit was way to simplified, and Cakewalk was just messy.

I was coming from the world of 4-track cassette in my younger years, and right before Pro Tools, I was running ADATs with a Tascam mixer.

Pro Tools was like a no brainer. Sat down with it, and could instantly do things. It's very much like sitting down at Microsoft Word for the first time. Doesn't take long before you're cruising thru any and all everyday tasks. And for anything more advanced, it only took me a few minutes to work it out. Very intuitive.
5th January 2009
Old 5th January 2009
Lives for gear

Over the years this i have noticed.. and it seems to work as a general rule of thumb....

Those who have a background in engineering and mathematics seem to favour the Logic path

Those who are a tad less *organised" thought wise, and prefer visual cues go for Cubase

I'm and old tape head.. A work colleague actually pointed out, i use a DAW very much like a tape machine. In my experience Samplitube, Reaper and Pro Tools all veer towards the visual side of things...

Overall, if you were put me on the spot and say.. which is the easiest paltform to use and actually get your head round... I'd say....