New Reply
Subscribe
conguero
3rd May 2008
Old 3rd May 2008
Gear maniac

Mbox 1 and MIDI

Hi Guys,

I have been working with digital performer for about 6 years now and just until recently (3 years ago) purchased an mbox 1 just to be able to transfer stuff to PT and I have'nt had to yet. I thought about selling it but I will never get anywhere close to what I paid for it. I saw a friend of mine record drums with a Vdrum set into protools via MIDI and the midi was instantly converted to individual wave files and the drum samples sounded awsome. I also use a Vdrum set and would love to use this tool and then import the tracks into DP. The only thing is my mbox has no midi ins or outs. The question is (finally!) Is it possible to record or do midi in PT with my mbox 1? Do I need an adapter of some sort?
Thanx........
4th May 2008
Old 4th May 2008
Gear addict

Short answer: No

Because the M Box 1 has no MIDI ports, you can not record MIDI into ProTools unless you use something else, like your sound card maybe, to record the MIDI information. You can record the audio from the v kit, but not the MIDI, with the M Box 1.

I don't understand how your friend could use a MIDI port to record audio. Are you sure he was doing what you think he did? Maybe he was triggering a software sampler and recording the audio. MIDI is not audio and can't be "converted" into audio.
4th May 2008
Old 4th May 2008
Gear maniac

exactly, He was using a drum program that rercords midi and simultaniously converts the midi to audio. It's great! So I would need a pci midi card in my pc and protools would accept it with no problem?
5th May 2008
Old 5th May 2008
Gear addict

I don't think they make a PCI MIDI interface that just does MIDI (they usually do audio too). I might be wrong though.

What I was talking about before was a break out cord that plugs into the game port of your sound card. I haven't seen one in years, though.