Firepod/FP10 vs Firestudio Project
New Reply
Subscribe
richardpyra
10th October 2007
Old 10th October 2007
Gear interested

Firepod/FP10 vs Firestudio Project

I know there's a few other threads about Presonus products, but I haven't yet seen anyone who's used the Firestudio Project, or broken down the pros and cons (in a practical sense of course.. I can compare specs, but I'm relatively new to recording, so I don't know realisticaly what the differences would be).

Anyway, I'm shopping for an interface with at least 8 mic preamps. The Presonus line is quite attractive to me at the moment because of the price (on a budget for sure). I'm open to other ideas, but from what I've researched, Presonus offers the most bang for the buck.

From what I understand, the Firestudio has better better preamps, but some features from the Firepod were omitted...
Basically I just want to know if the extra $100 is worth it, or if I'd be better off getting the Firepod for $399.
10th October 2007
Old 10th October 2007
Lives for gear

Send a message via MSN to Daniel Antix
i have a firestudio, it's ok, the software is a bit buggy (on pc anyway) some times i get pops and clicks some times the sound card needs to be rebooted. the pre's are clean enough, i would like a bit more volume on them but.

i regret rushing out and buying it, wish i saved the extra money for an rme fireface... which im doing now.
10th October 2007
Old 10th October 2007
Gear interested

What OS are you running? (xp/vista), and is it a high-spec computer? (or should I say.. what is your firewire running through? (firewire card or onboard, and whit kind of motherboard/firewire card do you have?)
That sounds like a real downer... I wonder if that's a common problem.

Also.. is it the Project or just Firestudio?
As I understand it the Firestudio Project has some updates to it. (maybe that's only up from Firepod standards?)
10th October 2007
Old 10th October 2007
Gear addict