Logic Pro X - Should I Upgrade?
New Reply
Subscribe
BrainstuHammy
17th July 2013
Old 17th July 2013
Gear Head

Logic Pro X - Should I Upgrade?

Reading lots of opinions and the Pros/Cons of this new software. I've been using Logic Pro 9 for a few years now and love it. Only major con I have with Logic 9 is it is nowhere near as easy to cut/paste/edit audio tracks in multitrack as it is in Adobe Audition CS6, so I don't use Logic for radio imaging.

The new software looks slick, easier to edit audio in multitrack and the mixer looks gorgeous. The Drummer plugin looks great despite me already having Drumagog, but the samples I heard sounded awesome.

Here is my MBP system info. It's an early 2011 17 inch model

I just purchased the 16GB RAM upgrade to speed up memory sucking apps like Logic and Premiere Pro.

I guess my questions are:

- Since I purchased Logic 9 from the app store, is there an upgrade price that isn't 200 bucks? Couldn't find a clear answer.
- I am purchasing a new interface to work with newer versions of OSX because the one I have now sometimes chooses not to work properly with 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard is last supported OSX, interface is 5 years old). Is it worth upgrading to Mountain Lion to get Logic X?
- If I do upgrade to Mountain Lion, will my system stats even with 16GB RAM work smoothly with Logic X?
- Should I just purchase a new machine entirely? Eventually planning on getting a new iMac or if the new Mac Pro isn't an arm and a leg to buy, but I don't have that kind of money now.
- And final question is has anyone used this and can give an honest user review?

I don't use synths that often. I mostly deal with Rock/Punk/Metal bands.

Thanks a lot guys. Cheers!
17th July 2013
Old 17th July 2013
Lives for gear

I'm pretty sure it is 200 to anyone. Considering Logic used to be $1000 and Logic 9 was $499 initially, this is not too bad.

I am told it installs along side Logic 9 too. I hope this helps!