The Maddening Midi Clock
New Reply
Subscribe
Angry Jonny
8th May 2013
Old 8th May 2013
Gear interested

The Maddening Midi Clock

I'm a bit novice to the whole midi syncing, but playing for church services every week where songs sets vary widely, we need to be able to switch between songs very quickly, efficiently, and accurately. We have an incredible drummer who is spot on with the click.

What I'm trying to figure out is the best way to sync two or three devices (hardware synths with arpeggiators mostly) and a metronome in a way that we can very quickly switch between different songs and tempos. I've done a lot of searches and I have to say that Midi Clock for live implementation is extremely confusing and frustrating.

Does the drummer really have to have a laptop running a DAW next to him with presaved "song" templates with bpms programmed to tell the metronome and the synths to sync? Is there a better solution?
8th May 2013
Old 8th May 2013
Lives for gear

Get any device that has Tap Tempo - a lot of guitar processors have this for delays etc. As long as it can transmit MIDI clock it could be set to be the master clock for everything else. Just link them up, and have the person with the best timekeeping skills - or perhaps the worship leader - stomp on the pedal when they want to change tempo ...
Angry Jonny
8th May 2013
Old 8th May 2013
Gear interested

It's definitely an option, but the drummer would have to listen to a preset tempo, click in with a foot pedal, and then the click and all other devices would be synced to his manual tap? I wonder if it could take too long between some songs. Any other options?
8th May 2013
Old 8th May 2013
Lives for gear