Need advice on good live mixing desk
dan_gribble
2nd March 2013
Old 2nd March 2013
Gear interested

Need advice on good live mixing desk

Hi guys, although I'm old hat at gigging, I'm new to live mixing scenario as it's now fallen on me to take the sound engineer responsibility of a new covers band I'm playing in.

We are in the process of getting an HK Audio elements PA system (it's a top end spec one), and we have around £1000 left of our budget to purchase a mixing desk.

The previous band I played in used a Mackie CFX22 (V1) and although I know technology has moved on, I really liked the facilities available on that desk. I'm aware though that new mackie gear has had some quality and reliability issues & I've been advised that an Allen & Heath Zed22fx or Mix Wizard 16:2 would be the way to go.

I guess what I'm asking is are there any other really good alternatives for around that price that would incorporate around 20 channels (at least 16 xlr) with 4 sub-groups, effects & if possible a graphic EQ. The Allen & Heath desks don't offer all of those on one console. Apologies if this has been covered before, but any advice would be hugely appreciated.
2nd March 2013
Old 2nd March 2013
Gear maniac

The Allen and Heath analogue gear is pretty impressive for the price. I've never seen a small mixer sub 1500 sound that good.

No analogue console wil have a built in 1/3rd octave graphic eq, you are much better off with an external graphic eq.

Might be able to find a VeniceF 24 or U 24 used in your budget range, although I really have no idea what used gear is priced your side of the pond.
2nd March 2013
Old 2nd March 2013
Gear maniac

These two are quite popular

Behringer X32 and the Presonus 32.4.2 are very popular and offer tons of features. I own a Presonus 24.4.2 and love it.
2nd March 2013
Old 2nd March 2013
Gear maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hattrick View Post
These two are quite popular