Behringer P16I & P16M review......
ScoobyDoo555
31st March 2012
Old 31st March 2012
Lives for gear

Behringer P16I & P16M review......

Well, much to my surprise, my speculative order for the new Behringer P16I and P16M arrived yesterday.

For those who don't know, this system is a audio-over-cat5 monitoring system that connects to the "outs" of the Front of House console, converts the multi-channel audio into digital and sends it down a cat5/ethernet cable to a daisy-chained array of personal mixers - ideally one per musician. The musician can then mix their own monitors (either/or both IEMs and wedges)

It is designed to be Behringer's "answer" to the highly respected (and costly) Aviom personal monitoring system.

As a performing musician, I've been looking for a system like this, but couldn't justify the expense of the fantastic Aviom.

The concept of a Behringer device that did the same for a fraction of the cost was appealing..... but approached with some caution, as it could be argued that there are many items from this company that haven't met expectations.

I have to admit that I have been one of these cautious people. I've had quality issues with several bits of kit and I had my doubts that this new offering would be able to stand the perils of the live environment.......

To cut to the chase: I'm impressed. Rather than gush in, let me explain why:

The system predominantly comprises of

P16-I: this is the rackmounted interface

Looking at the front first, you're greeted with a 16 channel input array. Toggle switches are utilised per channel. There are 4 settings of +22dBu, +4dBu, 0dBu & -10dBv.
They work as selectable gain structure.

What is intriguing is that ADAT audio is available (up to 16 channels) - you can combine both analogue and digital inputs.

There are initially 6 ethernet ports to output the resulting signals to the P16Ms. Further devices (up to 48!) can be added through the use of the Behringer P16D (an ethernet switch)