Live sound rant
New Reply
Subscribe
brrecording
28th August 2011
Old 28th August 2011
Gear maniac

Talking Live sound rant

Sorry about this just a little rant to get off my chest! I've been touring around as a live engineer for a few years working with a few reasonably well known acts.

Tonight my little brothers new band were playing their first gig so I told them I'd do the sound as a favour! When I got there to soundcheck i was informed that I wasn't to touch the desk as they had spent 15k on gear (my rough estimate was about 5k) and they wouldn't have someone who doesn't know what they're doing destroying their rig.

Attempting to be diplomatic I explained that this is my full time job and when asked informed them of the artists I had toured with. Still I was refused access.

Needless to say the sound was terrible, couldn't hear the vocals, bass was far too loud and feeding back and the sound of distortion off the acoustic from peaking the input on the desk was the icing on the cake!

Why do bands do this! They had a far better chance of blowing their system than I did!! My apologies, rant over!
Lives for gear

Jim Keaney @ Devotion Recording's Avatar

What did the bands do?
28th August 2011
Old 28th August 2011
Lives for gear

Sounds like the clubs sound guy or whoever you refer to as"they" was just being the all important club sound guy prick.
28th August 2011
Old 28th August 2011
Gear nut

What I do if I'm told I can't work sound when visiting a new club is tell the sound guy I usually do my band's sound, have no problem not touching the board, and ask if he wouldn't mind me letting him know what to expect on each song. I end up coaching the soundman through the set and the results have been positive. Has always worked for me.
brrecording
28th August 2011
Old 28th August 2011
Gear maniac