Is THX a scam?
New Reply
Subscribe
jtg
14th December 2006
Old 14th December 2006
Gear Head

Is THX a scam?

Im relatively new to the field of pro audio, so forgive my lack of experience. Lately Ive been curious about THX certification. I was somewhat skeptical as to the merits of it because there is huge money associated with the THX name, and I often see it being used as an excuse to charge double or triple what a product is worth.

I notice on wikipedia, it says:

"The THX system is not a recording technology, and it does not specify a sound recording format; all sound formats, whether digital (Dolby Digital, SDDS) or analog (Dolby SR, Ultra-Stereo), can be "shown in THX." THX is mainly a quality assurance system. When a film's producer has it mixed in THX, this means the film's soundtrack will sound, when shown in THX-certified theaters, exactly as the mixing engineer intended."

Which initially sounds like its a reference standard to basically ensure flat frequency response, which is all well and good. But the next sentence:

"THX also provides certified theaters with a special crossover circuit whose use is part of the standard."