Need 2 bus comp advice please: Nail or 33609 clone or Drawmer 1968 or?
Paul D
14th March 2013
Old 14th March 2013
Lives for gear

Need 2 bus comp advice please: Nail or 33609 clone or Drawmer 1968 or?

OK so I'd love to get some advice here...

I'm a guitarist/songwriter and I've got a very small (4 channel) but high quality recording chain (Royer > Great River pre & EQ > Mytek ADC) for recording my own stuff. I'm looking for the best 2 bus compressor to complement my style and the rest of my gear for hybrid mixing and maybe eventually analog summing.

I've already got Overstayer FET and VCA half rack stereo comps, a pair of FMR PBC6As and an ART Pro VLAII. I like them OK but I'm looking for something really incredible on the 2 bus that will give my mixes a more "vintage" vibe and a more finished sound. I'm into 'classic rock', funk, 60s and 70s mostly not really looking for a 'modern' sound but more old school vibe.

I've read great things about both the Nail and the 33609, and actually I'm looking at some improved 33609 clones like the Vintech and Vintage Designs which have variable HPFs and a wider range of attack times. I'm going to be using the Great River EQ2-NV on the 2 bus as well as for tracking and mixing, and maybe adding a stereo Pultec style EQ on the 2 bus at some point down the line but not for sure.

Seems like the Neve-style bus comp would be a great choice considering my Great River gear, or would that be too much of a good thing? Also, I know the 33609 came out in the 80s, but the technology is alot older right, from the 2254? Not looking for an "80s-90s" sound at all....I admit I am intrigued by the 'diode bridge' compression b/c I've never used one before and the descriptions sound amazing...