Login / Register

What does it take to make a track sound like this?
New Reply
Subscribe
kodebode
13th March 2013
Old 13th March 2013
Gear nut

What does it take to make a track sound like this?

13th March 2013
Old 13th March 2013
www.circlestudios.co.uk

a talented artist(s) and a talented producer working with a talented engineer in a good room with good equipment and mixed and mastered by talented mixing and mastering engineers and then smashed to pieces by youtube's compression algorithm. Simples.

Machiavelli's Guide To the Music Industry: http://www.supajam.com/blog/l/Machia...Music-Industry
13th March 2013
Old 13th March 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trev@Circle View Post
and then smashed to pieces by youtube's compression algorithm. Simples.
LOL
kodebode
13th March 2013
Old 13th March 2013
Gear nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Morris View Post
LOL
I am not too technical, and aware of exactly how much Youtube affects the sound quality. You may be right.

But with that in mind, this is what made this recording stand out for me. In comparison with thousands of songs I have listened to on youtube, this is one that still stood out, and contrary to your comments, did NOT sound compressed.

For a music track produced in the 70's, to sound this good, spacious and enlivening, in spite of whatever youtube does to the sound, is noteworthy.

Could you point me to any other remarkable recordings, with a good dynamic range?
13th March 2013
Old 13th March 2013
www.circlestudios.co.uk

the steeley dan album, aja is often referenced
13th March 2013
Old 13th March 2013
Lives for gear

A time machine?
13th March 2013
Old 13th March 2013
Lives for gear

Not just a reverb plugin there.
14th March 2013
Old 14th March 2013
Gear addict

Boy, I've lately been reading a bit about Quincy, his composing habits, general views on recording and so on.