I need serious help how to connect and manage my analog signals in my studio
New Reply
Subscribe
Immersion
20th November 2012
Old 20th November 2012
Lives for gear

I need serious help how to connect and manage my analog signals in my studio

I am building a studio problem is here I have zero knowledge about analog recording, I know nothing about what is a good pre amp what is a bad one, I do not know anything about microphones etc.

Anyway I have a huge problem to decide have to connect all my analog inputs.

SSL nucleus seem to be a good solution, but I am worried of some of the limitations, such as limited amount of inputs.

Not sure how many inputs I will need in the future, but I guess

Guitar and bass 1 input, and micrphone 1-2 inputs, and synths 2 inputs, drums 1 input

My motto regarding amount of inputs is still for me quality before quantity so I do not need absurd amount of inputs I rather have fewer and better sound.

The other alternative is to buy a pre amo and all nuclues functionality and daw controller etc separately.
what pre amp should I buy then, please keep in mind this is a high end sutdio but still on limited budget.

Other solutions would be to buy a smaller SSL mixer and a daw controller separately.
The question is does the smaller ssl mixers with few inputs have good pre amps ? Same quality as SSL Nucleus ?

Eventide H8000FW will be the heart in my studio almost all sound will be processed through there.

my speakers are Trident HG3
20th November 2012
Old 20th November 2012
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

Quote:
Originally Posted by Immersion View Post
I am building a studio problem is here I have zero knowledge about analog recording, I know nothing about what is a good pre amp what is a bad one, I do not know anything about microphones etc.

Anyway I have a huge problem to decide have to connect all my analog inputs.