New Reply
Subscribe
delano22
4th April 2012
Old 4th April 2012
Gear nut

How to tell an original Neve 1073?

Hi all.

I have never tried a Neve 1073. I want to buy one and use it for a while. However, I have NO knowledge of which are the reissues, the clones, the new ones, etc. and I don't want to get screwed into buying the wrong one or a fake with a different faceplate or something.

Can someone show me which is the original, vintage 1073? Is it the only one that looks that way?

Silly question, I know, for such a nice preamp (or so I've heard). I don't live in a big city and have never had any access to one so I never bothered to learn much about them. All I know is people love them so I want to try it out.

Thanks.
4th April 2012
Old 4th April 2012
Lives for gear

There's not 'one' true 1073, the boxes differ a little on what parts were used. Which brings us to ... you have to look inside the box to tell if it's stock and what condition. It still could be all stock and in bad shape. How about taking the box to a knowledgeable tech? Don't know where you're from, but Geoff Tanner is the man.
Which brings us into the territory of 'clones', reissues, opinions... you could always buy something new from the usual suspects (search engine...) or from Aurora Audio. Maybe you would like to spend an afternoon reading threads about the whole topic?
GS fun: people who can't drive ask other people who can't drive if they should buy a 12 ton truck or a BMW. Then ask somebody from Berlin (with a map of Moscow) for the way to the train station in Hongkong. Somebody stresses the importance of grabbing the steering wheel with one hand only, as Bruce Swedien was reported to have done that 1986, while reversing into his driveway.
If want to check some tasteful piece of art I was involved, here: https://soundcloud.com/frans_13/organtransplant
4th April 2012
Old 4th April 2012
Lives for gear

Hi