Audio Interface/ Mic Preamp/ Monitors! Best results
New Reply
Subscribe
limitlessflight
27th March 2012
Old 27th March 2012
Gear nut

Audio Interface/ Mic Preamp/ Monitors! Best results

Hello, I am completely new to all of this. However this site has helped tremendously, more than I could imagine. So I created an account hoping for some of the best advice from professionals. So thanks in advance! Now...

What I have:
Macbook Pro 13in
Ableton Live 8
Audio Technica 4050 Microphone
K&M boom stand

I am seeking professional quality results - this is very important to me. I would like an interface with solid pres so I wont have to get an additional preamp.

Past: I purchased an Apogee Duet 2 which sounded great, but it was very unreliable and just wouldn't function properly. It sounded pretty incredible. The gain got up to 72db which I really liked. However when recording vocals, the sound would only play out of one side depending on which input cable it was in. All in all very unreliable piece of equipment, so I am returning it.

Now: I have a budget around $1,000 that I would like to be respected, but will splurge out more if it is absolutely worth it.
I definitely want to go with Firewire as you could imagine.

Considerations:
Metric Halo ULN 2
Steinberg MR816X
MBox 3 Pro
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 - FireWire Digital Audio Interface
Focusrite ISA One Classic 1-Channel

And Im pretty solid on my decision for monitors: Yamaha HS80Ms - the only thing I am contemplating in this arena is should I opt for Monitor stands or pads? And I am also open if you know of better monitors for mixing please feel free to mention.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Note: Studio will manly be used only for my vocals and some/little acoustic guitar. So I wouldn't need many outputs. All types of music ranging from pop, jazz, hip hop, to techno. I just want the absolute best I can get for my buck to get realpro quality results!
27th March 2012
Old 27th March 2012
Gear addict